When is the India vs Australia 2024 T20 World Cup Super 8 Group 1 match?

India v Australia: Final - ICC Men
Australia have the upper hand over India in ICC events. (Image Credit: Getty Images)

Team India booked their place in the Super 8 round of the 2024 T20 World Cup by getting the better of United States by seven wickets at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Wednesday, June 12. The Men in Blue thus became the first team from Group A to progress to the next round.

India have won all their three matches in the 2024 T20 World Cup so far. Before the win against the US, they beat Ireland by eight wickets and Pakistan by six runs in a low-scoring thriller.

On the other hand, Australia also confirmed their place in the Super 8 from Group B. They too have won all their three matches so far. The Aussies began the World Cup by defeating Oman by 39 runs. They subsequently got the better of Ashes rivals England by 36 runs before hammering Namibia by nine wickets.

Although four Super 8 slots are still up for grabs, it has been confirmed that India will take on Australia at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St Lucia on June 24. The match has been confirmed on the basis of pre-seeding for the top eight teams done by the ICC before the T20 World Cup got underway.

India were given an A1 seeding and Australia B2. So, irrespective of where they finish in their respective groups, they will clash in St Lucia on June 24 as per the pre-seeding decided by the tournament organizers. The other team seedings are as follows - Pakistan (A2), England (B1), New Zealand (C1), West Indies (C2), South Africa (D1) and Sri Lanka (D2).

If any of the top eight sides don't qualify for the Super 8 round of the T20 World Cup, the teams that progress will automatically get the respective seedings.

The battle for Super 8 in the 2024 T20 World Cup

While India and Australia have qualified for the Super 8 round of the 2024 T20 World Cup from Group A and Group B respectively, West Indies and South Africa have made the cut from Group C and Group D respectively.

West Indies booked their place in the next round by getting the better of New Zealand by 13 runs at the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba, Trinidad on Thursday, June 13, their third consecutive win. The Proteas confirmed their spot with a close four-run win over Bangladesh in New York.

While Pakistan have only two points from three matches, England (1 point), New Zealand (0 points) and Sri Lanka (1 point) face an uphill task to reach the next round of the ICC event.

Looking for fast live cricket scores? Download CricRocket and get fast score updates, top-notch commentary in-depth match stats & much more! 🚀☄️

Quick Links

Edited by Renin Wilben Albert
App download animated image Get the free App now