Favorites Edit

ODI tri-series: Ambati Rayudu, Stuart Binny replace Rohit Sharma and R Ashwin for India

6.92K   //    20 Jan 2015, 09:48 IST
Ambati Rayudu
Ambati Rayudu

Brisbane, Jan 20 (IANS) Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni on Tuesday won the toss and elected to bat first against England in the third match of the One Day International (ODI) tri-series at the Gabba here.

India have made two changes from their previous match, bringing in Ambati Rayudu and Stuart Binny for Rohit Sharma and R Ashwin. While Sharma misses the match due to a sore hamstring, the reason behind Ashwin’s exclusion is unclear.

The Gabba pitch is known to not provide much assistance for spinners and that might be the reason why Ashwin has been dropped.

Axar Patel had outperformed the Tamil Nadu offspinner in the ODI against Australia on Sunday, with figures of 1/45 in his 10 overs. On the other hand, Ashwin conceded 54 runs for 1 wicket in 9 overs, going at 6 runs per over.

For England, fast bowler James Anderson returns to the ODI side after missing the game against Australia on Friday.


England: Ian Bell, Moeen Ali, James Taylor, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Steven Finn.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ambati Rayudu, Stuart Binny, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.

Match Details

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Mick Martell (Australia)

TV umpire: Simon Fry (Australia)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

Reserve umpire: John Ward (Australia)

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...