PSL 2019 - Multan Sultans Team Preview

Multan Sultans Preview
Multan Sultans Preview
Modified 15 Feb 2019

After 3 successful seasons, the fourth edition of the PSL (Pakistan Super League) is back again and is ushering the prime time of Pakistan Cricket. With 3 good seasons to it's credit, the fourth edition of PSL promises to be even bigger and more engaging.

The 4th season of the Pakistan Super League has begun. As the PSL is set to entertain all T20 lovers around the world, let's have a closer look at the Multan Sultans outfit.

Sultans of Multan eye season glory

After entering the Pakistan Super League as the sixth franchise in 2018, Multan Sultans narrowly missed the playoffs in the only PSL season they participated. PCB terminated the eight year ownership rights due to financial issues with the owners. Without any owners and team name, PCB looked after the player draft details as the sixth team.

New owners also persisted with the same team name and they will look to start new again. Though they lost their premium pick Steve Smith due to an elbow injury, they've snapped a few big T20 stars like Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi and Dan Christian. Their vast T20 experience will help the Sultans' campaign.

ALSO READ - PSL 2019 Preview

In Shoaib Malik, they've got an experienced T20 leader. Also his batting prowess will help them in their batting unit. With James Vince and Malik, they have got two reliable players who can play for long stretches and anchor the innings.

In Junaid Khan and Mohammad Abbas, they've got two in-form Pakistani pacers. With seasoned T20 all-rounders like Russel, Afridi & Christian in their side, the bowling department also looks fine to complete the required quota of 20 overs in a T20 game.

The only weak link is their spin department. Apart from Afridi, they don't have any other known big names to trust. This might be a problem of concern on the slow & spin friendly UAE pitches.

Key Players - Andre Russell, Shoaib Malik, Dan Christian, James Vince, Shahid Afridi and Junaid Khan.

PSL Record

--> Matches - 10 | Wins - 4 | Loses - 5 | Tie - 0 | NR - 1

--> Win % - 40.0

--> 2016 - DNP | 2017 - DNP | 2018 - 5th


Shoaib Malik(C), Ali Shafiq, Andre Russell, Daniel Christian, Hammad Azam, James Vince, Johnson Charles, Junaid Khan, Laurie Evans, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Junaid, Nauman Ali, Shahid Afridi, Shakeel Ansar, Shan Masood, Tom Moores, Umar Siddiq, Chris Green

Coach - Johan Botha

Published 15 Feb 2019
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now