PSL 2019: The T20 league ushering in a prime time for Pakistan Cricket 

Captains with the PSL Trophy
Captains with the PSL Trophy

Cricket is passionately followed by people in many countries and continents. The fanfare and level of engagement which the sport receives in the sub-continent in unprecedented and unparalleled. Pakistan is not an exception by any means.

Like many other cricket boards, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has also started a franchise-based T20 league - the Pakistan Super League (PSL) to generate revenue and to provide a sizable platform for Pakistan's domestic players to showcase their skills and talent.

ALSO WATCH - PSL 4 Player Draft 2019 Details

After 3 successful seasons, the PSL is back again and is ushering the prime time of Pakistan Cricket. With 3 good seasons to its credit, the fourth edition of the PSL promises to be even bigger and more engaging. A 350% increase in their broadcast deal, coupled with a new title sponsorship deal with Habib Bank Limited being worth three times more than their original one has ensured that the PSL is evolving into one of the major T20 leagues in the World.

Another major success of the PSL was bringing back competitive cricket to Pakistan. The PCB hosted few playoffs of previous seasons in Pakistan and this year, along with all the playoffs, few league matches are also scheduled at Karachi & Lahore. All the international players of those respective teams conveyed their willingness to play in the country - a move which will definitely prompt international teams to reconsider the possibility of playing international cricket in Pakistan.

With the World Cup around the corner, the PSL will provide a perfect platform for Pakistani players and other countrymen to try and seal a berth in their WC squads.

Squads and Player Draft Details


Unique Set of Awards

PSL announced a unique list of awards to be handed out to the players and these awards were unveiled by the captains of the six franchises.

List of Awards & Unveiled by :

Spirit of Cricket Award - Darren Sammy (Peshawar Zalmi)

Player of the Tournament - Mohammed Sami (Islamabad United)

Best Player of the Field - Shoaib Malik (Multan Sultans)

Best Wicket Keeper of the Tournament - Sarfraz Ahmed (Quetta Gladiators)

Batsman of the Tournament - Mohammed Hafeez (Lahore Qalandars)

Bowler of the Tournament - Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings)

Captains with all the PSL Awards
Captains with all the PSL Awards


A total of 34 matches will be played in the entire league, out of which 4 will be playoffs. 26 league stage games will be hosted by Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi while Karachi and Lahore will host couple of home league matches each along with the playoffs.

The full schedule of PSL 2019 can be found here.

Broadcast Details

PSL will be making it's debut in India and will be broadcasted in the country through DSports. It will also be televised around the world on various platforms, as officially announced by the PCB.

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on PSL 2019 points table, schedule, news, live scores and fantasy tips.

Quick Links

Edited by Zaid Khan
Be the first one to comment