Favorites Edit

Shreyas Iyer smashes the highest T20 score by an Indian batsman

6.11K   //    21 Feb 2019, 15:49 IST

Shreyas Iyer broke Rishabh Pant's record with an explosive knock
Shreyas Iyer broke Rishabh Pant's record with an explosive knock

Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer hit a stunning 55-ball 147 to take his team to 258/4 against Sikkim in the 2019 edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The 24-year-old smacked 15 sixes and seven boundaries, sending the bowlers for a leather hunt.

Iyer's effort is also the highest ever score by an Indian batsman in all T20 cricket. The previous best was Rishabh Pant's 128 for Delhi Daredevils against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Iyer hit all over the ground and found the gaps at ease. He batted with a strike rate of 267.27 and didn't let the momentum slip.

Earlier, Mumbai were in a spot of bother after having lost openers Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw. Rahane departed in the second over while Shaw followed in the very next over. With the score reading 22/2, Mumbai had their task cut out and it was Iyer who joined hands with Surya Kumar Yadav to stitch a 200-plus run partnership.

The Sikkim bowlers were at the receiving end as apart from Milind Kumar, each of the seven bowlers proved to be expensive. Milind conceded just 30 runs and bagged the wickets of Iyer and Yadav.

It may turn out to be too late for Iyer, who has been knocking the doors for an Indian call-up. He has played 6 ODIs and same number of T20Is for India, scoring close to 300 runs across the two formats. This will come as a good news for Delhi Capitals, for whom Iyer will take the field during the upcoming IPL.

The explosive batter has a decent T20 record. He has amassed 2000-plus runs and today's hundred will go down as his maiden ton in the shortest format of the game. Sikkim will have a daunting task at their hand, chasing 259 to seal a win.

Top 5 scores by an Indian batsman in T20 cricket

#1 Shreyas Iyer - 147 (Mumbai vs Sikkim, 2019)

#2 Rishabh Pant - 128* (Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2018)


#3 Murali Vijay - 127 (Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals, 2010)

#4 Suresh Raina - 126* (Uttar Pradesh vs Bengal, 2018)

#5 Virender Sehwag - 122 (Kings XI Punjab vs Chennai Super Kings, 2014)