SK Play of the day: Rohit Sharma's dismissal after bizarre decisions by the third umpire
Controversy engulfed the first T20I between India and New Zealand when confusion erupted regarding the dismissal of Rohit Sharma.
Trent Boult had the ball in hand as he fired a full and wide one, Rohit tried to flay it away past covers but missed it. The ball ballooned through to wicket-keeper Tom Latham who completed the catch and went up in appeal.
On-field umpire Nitin Menon was not very sure about the catch and hence asked for an 'umpire referral'. Third umpire Anil Chaudhary looked at the replays and without using the ultra edge decided to adjudge not out.
New Zealand captain Kane Williamson who was convinced about the edge then took a players review and the entire process was repeated, this time with all the proper tools. Hence, when ultra edge came up, there was a clear spike when the ball passed the bat and this asserted New Zealand's belief that the ball had kissed the bat before the bat grazed the surface.
The on-field decision had to be reversed and Rohit had to walk out for a brilliant 80.
According to the new rules rolled out by the International Cricket Council, teams can now avail one review per match even in T20Is and this particular facility was brilliantly utilised by Kane Williamson.
However, amidst all this, the decision made by the third umpire was baffling, to say the least, since he was asked to check a bump ball, but instead, he made the ruling based on the fact that the ball had grazed the ground. He was left red-faced when New Zealand challenged his wisdom and after going through all the relevant tools had to reverse his decision.
Rohit was the star of the show as after a very slow start he broke free and smacked 80 runs in only 55 balls to help India reach a solid total of 202.
This is also Ashish Nehra's final International match and he would now be expected to spearhead an Indian attack as they attempt to defend the total.