South Asian Games 2019: Cricket action continues on Day 4 in Nepal with three key ties

The hosts Nepal have lost their opening match against the Sri Lanka U-23 match
The hosts Nepal have lost their opening match against the Sri Lanka U-23 match

The South Asian Games 2019 kicked off on 1st December 2019 with a grand opening ceremony at the Dasarath Rangasala Stadium in Kathmandu as seven nations came together for the multi-sporting extravaganza in the country of Nepal.

The short form of cricket, T20 has been introduced for the Men at the 2010 South Asian Games that was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The hosts Bangladesh were the first cricket gold medalists as they defeated Sri Lanka in the final match. Pakistan won the bronze medal in 2010 defeating Maldives in the third-place playoffs.

After 2010, T20 cricket has made its return to the South Asian Games fold for both the Men and Women. The Men's tournament will see the hosts Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bangladesh, and Bhutan compete for the gold medal. India and Pakistan have not sent their teams to Nepal for the South Asian Games.

The Women's tournament will see four teams - Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives and Bangladesh compete for podium spots as the teams from India, Bhutan and Pakistan have not sent their teams for the competition.

A few matches have been held so far from 2nd - 4th December 2019 with the Women's tournament starting from 2nd December followed by the Men's tournament kicking off from the 3rd December.

On the first day, Nepal Women made easy work of Maldives Women bundling them for a paltry 16 runs whereas Bangladesh Women defeated the Sri Lankan Women's team by seven wickets.

The second day saw the Bangladesh Women defeat the Nepalese Women team bundling them for 50 runs and chasing the target easily. In the other match of the day, Sri Lankan Women defeated Maldives Women with a huge margin of 249 runs.

The Men's tournament was inaugurated on the 4th December 2019 by the home side Nepal against Sri Lanka as the Lankans beat them by 6 wickets chasing the target of 174 runs.

The fourth day of cricketing action will see three matches - one in the women's tournament and two for the men as follows.

T20 Cricket Schedule on 5th December 2019

Men's Tournament

09:00 AM - Bhutan vs Nepal

01:00 PM - Sri Lanka U-23 vs Maldives

Women's Tournament

11:00 AM - Maldives vs Bangladesh

The timings given are prior to Indian Standard Time (IST)

Check out India Squad for World Cup 2023 & South Africa Squad for World Cup 2023. Follow Sportskeeda for latest News.

Quick Links

Edited by Sai Teja
Be the first one to comment