South Asian Games 2019 Cricket

Last Modified Dec 03, 2019 11:56 IST

The 13th edition of the South Asian Games will see the return of Twenty-20 cricket, after a gap of 9 years having not featured in the 2016 edition. Cricket was first introduced in the South Asian Games at the 2010 edition held in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Performance of major countries

Bangladesh won the gold medal by defeating Sri Lanka in the final of the 2010 South Asian games whereas Pakistan clinched the bronze medal after defeating Maldives.

2019 South Asian Games Cricket

The 2019 South Asian Games will see the host country Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Maldives and Bhutan participate in the Men's T20 Cricket category. The Women's T20 Cricket category has been introduced at the 2019 South Asian Games and will feature four countries - Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and the Maldives.

India will not be participating in cricket, neither in women’s or men’s category.