New User posted their first comment

Sportskeeda Cricket Awards 2016: ODI Bowler of the Year

Percentage of fans votes
Rajdeep Puri
Modified 15 Dec 2016, 17:58 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

Amidst all the record breaking achievements of batsmen like Virat Kohli and Steve Smith in the limited overs format, it seems like we might not have given enough credit to the bowlers, who have been just as exceptional. Despite the beginning of the year being dominated by T-20 internationals, we saw a lot of excellent ODI matches as well in the second half of the year. With the increasing number of batsmen friendly pitches being produced all over the world, these bowlers have been extremely impressive.

Extra Cover: Sportskeeda Awards: T-20 batsman of the year

As we approach the end of yet another memorable year, we have sat down and come up with a system to rank the bowlers for our annual awards. We conducted a poll and counted the number of votes by the fans all over the world and combined it with our expert’s picks to pick out the best bowler in ODIs this year.

Fans’ votes

The candidates were narrowed down to 5  with Australia having three nominees in the form of John Hastings, Adam Zampa and Mitchell Starc. South Africa’s Imran Tahir and  India’s Jasprit Bumrah were the other two nominees based on their performances in 2016. 

The final tally:

It was an extremely close fight between Australian spearhead Starc and India’s new addition Bumrah. While Starc received the maximum number of votes, Bumrah fell short by a small margin.

After combining these votes with our expert’s pick, the final results are as follows

1 / 6 NEXT
Published 15 Dec 2016, 16:26 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit