⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Sri Lanka announce squad for historic Test series in Pakistan

Aakash Arya
Modified 21 Dec 2019, 01:11 IST

Pakistan v Sri Lanka
Pakistan v Sri Lanka

The Sri Lankan Test squad for the historic Test tour of Pakistan was announced today. After putting up a second-string side for the three-match ODI and T20I series’, Sri Lanka announced their first-choice squad which will take on Pakistan. The first Test will be played at Rawalpindi from December 11 while the second Test will begin from December 19. 

Dimuth Karunaratne returns to the side as captain, while senior members like Angelo Matthews, Dinesh Chandimal and Suranga Lakhwal also made their way despite security concerns.

After more than a decade, Test cricket will make its way back on Pakistan soil post the horrific terrorist attacks in Lahore in 2009.

Also see - Live cricket score

Lahiru Thirimanne led the ODI side while Dasun Shanaka was appointed as the T20I leader in Sri Lanka's limited-overs tour to Pakistan last month. Pakistan are currently playing their second and final Test (day-night) against Australia at the Adelaide Oval. They lost the first Test by an innings and five runs.

Sri Lanka Squad

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Janith Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan

Published 29 Nov 2019, 14:54 IST
Fetching more content...