Favorites Edit

Sri Lanka announce squad for the series against India

10.00K   //    07 Aug 2015, 18:56 IST
sri lanka squad india series
Kumar Sangakkara will retire following the second Test

The Sri Lankan selectors have named a strong 16-member squad for the 3 match Test series against India which starts on the 12th of August at Galle, reports ESPNcricinfo. The one big surprise has been the inclusion of uncapped 23-year-old fast bowler Vishwa Fernando. It remains to be seen if he will get the nod ahead of the likes of Nuwan Pradeep and Dushmantha Chameera.

Fernando has played 31 first-class matches so far in which he has picked up 98 wickets at an average of 31 which is quite impressive considering the nature of wickets that are on offer generally in the island nation. He impressed the selectors in the ongoing tour match where he dismissed Rohit Sharma and Wriddhimann Saha in the second innings.

Kithuruwan Vithanage has been dropped from the squad after failing to make an impact in the series against Pakistan which Sri Lanka lost. Seamer Suranga Lakmal has also been left out of the squad as he has not completely recovered from the side strain.

There is a cloud of uncertainty that surrounds Dushmantha’s selection as well since he suffered from a side strain during the series against Pakistan. But he is expected to get fit by the time the Test starts.

All eyes will be on Sri Lanka’s team combination for the first Test as the skipper Angelo Mathews and the team management will be under pressure to perform in their home conditions after losing the series across all three formats against their Asian neighbours. 

India have picked the experienced leg-spinner Amit Mishra in the squad with skipper Virat Kohli already giving strong indications on playing all 3 spinners considering the success Yasir Shah had last month. 

This series will be Kumar Sangakkara’s final assignment in International Cricket as he has already revealed that he will be retiring after the 2nd Test at Colombo. The 37-year-old is Sri Lanka’s highest run-getter in Test Cricket with more than 12,000 runs at a stunning average of 58 which also includes 38 centuries. 

Squad Angelo Mathews (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga, Jehan Mubarak, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Tharindu Kaushal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera (subject to fitness) 

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...