Favorites Edit

Stats: Fastest centuries in Test cricket

Davis James
8.77K   //    20 Feb 2016, 12:49 IST
Brendon McCullum Australia New Zealand 2016
McCullum on his way to the fastest Test hundred

Scoring a century in Test cricket is an honour that all batsmen pride on. Scoring them at a quick pace in the longest format of the is a facet that not many batsmen have. Brendon McCullum is one of the few batsmen who have that exceptional talent to ‘take the bowlers to the cleaners’.

Also read: Who has highest T20I wickets?

When McCullum announced his retirement, it was a shock to most cricket fans as the Kiwi skipper never looked like his style of batting was waning. However, he ensured that he did not disappoint his fans and followers when New Zealand took on Australia in the second Test, McCullum's last international match.

McCullum made history when he scored the fastest century in Test cricket on Day One of the second Test against Australia in Christchurch. The 34-year-old scored his hundred off just 54 balls, beating the previously held record of 56 balls by Vivian Richards and Misbah-ul-Haq.

It was only fitting that the Kiwi skipper broke the record as he is, arguably, the most attacking batsman across all formats of the game. McCullum went on to score 145 runs off 79 balls, almost getting close to breaking his own record for the fastest 150 in Test cricket.

We take a look at the 10 fastest centuries in Test cricket (by balls faced). Four people share the 10th fastest Test century, that was scored off 74 balls. Majid Khan was the earliest to score it in 74 balls and hence makes our top ten list. The other three who have scored centuries in 74 balls are – Kapil Dev (India) against Sri Lanka in 1986, Mohammad Azharuddin (India) against South Africa in 1996 and Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) against Sri Lanka in 2014.

Here is the top ten list:

Player (Country)Balls takenOppositionYear
Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)54Australia2016
Vivian Richards (West Indies)56England1986
Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)56Australia2014
Adam Gilchrist (Australia)57England2007
Jack Gregory (Australia)67South Africa1921
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)69Australia2002
David Warner (Australia)69India2012
Chris Gayle (West Indies)70Australia2009
Roy Fredericks (West Indies)71Australia1975
Majid Khan (Pakistan)74New Zealand1976
Topics you might be interested in:
Davis James
Fetching more content...