Stats: Full list of India's Test captains thus far

Kohli Rahane Dhoni
Unlike Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane may not get a lot of opportunities as captain
Ram Kumar
Modified 25 Mar 2017

If playing for the country in Test cricket is a rare privilege, then getting the opportunity to lead is a sacrosanct achievement. With regular skipper Virat Kohli not quite willing to risk his shoulder injury in the series decider against Australia in Dharamsala, Ajinkya Rahane has become only the 33rd player to captain India in the longest format of the game. 

The soft-spoken Mumbaikar joined an illustrious list comprising some of India’s greatest ever cricketers. Even though he filled in for Kohli at various stages of the third Test in Ranchi, Rahane officially entered the pantheon of legends when he wore the distinguished dark blue blazer and walked out for the toss.

With the snow-clad Himalayan peaks providing a fitting background, he accomplished the dream of every aspiring player.

In almost 85 years, India have played 512 Tests (including the Dharamsala match) and won 138 of those. MS Dhoni has contributed to the highest number of those victories (27) as captain. Even though Sourav Ganguly is a distant second in the table with 21 triumphs, his win-loss ratio of 1.61 is slightly better than that of the wicket-keeper batsman’s 1.50.

Extra Cover: India vs Australia 4th Test Day 1 Stats: Steven Smith's incredible run continues

Despite leading India in only 26 Tests thus far, Kohli already has 16 victories to his name at a staggering win-loss ratio of 5.33. Although gruelling overseas tours will be on his agenda from the end of this year, the 28-year-old’s remarkable captaincy record continues to raise hopes.

Among those of yore, Sunil Gavaskar led India in 47 Tests during one of the toughest eras in the game and yet managed to walk away with an impressive win-loss record of 1.12. When Indian cricket was still searching for its identity, Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi formed a menacing spin quartet to notch nine wins.

Even though the table might not reveal the entire picture, Ajit Wadekar’s four Test victories encompass series triumphs in England and West Indies. From CK Nayudu to the latest entrant in Rahane, the legacy lives on.

Full List of India's Test Captains

PlayerCaptaincy SpanMatchesWonLostDrawTiedWin-Loss Ratio
CK Nayudu1932-34403100
Maharajah of Vizianagram1936302100
Iftikhar Ali Khan Pataudi 1946301200
Lala  Amarnath1947-521526700.33
Vijay Hazare1951-531415800.20
Vinoo Mankad1955-59601500
Ghulam Ahmed1955-59302100
Polly Umrigar1955-58822401.00
Hemu Adhikari1959100100
Datta Gaekwad1959404000
Pankaj Roy1959101000
Gulabrai Ramchand1959-60512200.50
Nari Contractor1960-621222801.00
Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi1962-75409191200.47
Chandu Borde1967101000
Ajit Wadekar1971-741644801
Srinivas Venkataraghavan1974-79502300
Sunil Gavaskar1976-8547983001.12
Bishen Singh Bedi1976-7822611500.54
Gundappa Viswanath1980201100
Kapil Dev1983-8734472210.57
Dilip Vengsarkar1987-891025300.40
Ravi Shastri198811000------
Krishnamachari Srikkanth1989400400
Mohammad Azharuddin1990-994714141901
Sachin Tendulkar1996-200025491200.44
Sourav Ganguly2000-054921131501.61
Rahul Dravid2003-0725861101.33
Virender Sehwag2005-12422102
Anil Kumble2007-081435600.60
MS Dhoni2008-146027181501.50
Virat Kohli2014-present26163705.33
*Ajinkya Rahane2017-present1-----------------------------

(*Note: All Statistics are as of 25th March, 2017)

Published 25 Mar 2017
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now