New User posted their first comment

Stats: India equal world record for most bowled dismissals in a T20I innings

In a rain-shortened encounter, India still managed to break a world record
In a rain-shortened encounter, India still managed to break a world record
Modified 07 Oct 2017, 23:43 IST

In a rain-curtailed start to the T20I series, India won the first T20I in Ranchi by 9 wickets via the Duckworth-Lewis method. After winning the toss, India elected to field and their decision was vindicated as the bowlers restricted the visitors to a paltry total before rain came down and cut short the game.

Put in to bat, Australia didn't enjoy a great start as they lost captain David Warner early. Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch tried to steady the ship but the Indian wrist spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal turned the game on its head. In their eight overs, they picked up eight wickets for just 39 and ensured that the visitors' spin woes continued.

Before the rain arrived, Australia were struggling at 118/8 in 18.4 overs. Due to the persistent rain, their innings ended there and the hosts were set a revised target of 48 to win off six overs. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan walked out to bat and although Rohit was bowled by Nathan Coulter-Nile, Dhawan, along with Indian captain Virat Kohli, saw his side home with three balls to spare.

Here are some interesting statistical highlights from the first T20I:

6 - The number of Australian batsmen who were bowled in their innings. Courtesy of this, India equal the world record for most bowled dismissals in a T20I innings.

1 - Only Pakistan have won more consecutive T20I matches against a particular opponent than India. Pakistan have won nine consecutive matches against Zimbabwe.

2 - Virat Kohli is only the second Indian after MS Dhoni to captain the side in a T20I against Australia.

3 - India became the third side after Pakistan and New Zealand (both against Bangladesh) to win seven consecutive T20Is against a particular opposition.

4 - Yuzvendra Chahal has dismissed Glenn Maxwell four times in this tour. In each of the first three ODIs and in this match.

5 - This is only the fifth time in T20I history that six batsmen have been bowled in a single T20I innings.


7 - India have now won 7 successive T20Is against Australia, which is their longest winning streak in the format against any side. Their last defeat came during the World T20 in 2012.

8 - Although this is only the 14th T20I between Australia and India, David Warner is the eighth different Australian captain to feature in those matches.

50 - This was India's 50th win in T20Is. They became only the fourth team to breach the 50 win mark in T20Is. Only Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka have won more.

Published 07 Oct 2017, 23:06 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit