Stats: MS Dhoni becomes the first captain to win 30 twenty20 international matches

Dhoni during the second T20I match against Sri Lanka in Ranchi

India's Mahendra Singh Dhoni became the first skipper to lead a team to 30 wins in Twenty20 Internationals after the win against Sri Lanka in the Ranchi match. The unique feat was achieved after team India clinch a series-levelling win against the visitors with one match to go.

The Ranchi-born cricketer tops the list where he is followed by Ireland’s skipper William Porterfield (23 wins) and West Indies’ skipper Darren Sammy (22 wins). India came back strongly after losing the first game of the 3-match T20I series in Pune and thrashed the Lankan team by 69 runs in the 2nd game.

Even though Dhoni has an edge over rest of the captains in the list because of the number of matches he has captained is more than anyone, he also maintains a healthy win-percentage of 55.45.

Team Indian became the inaugural champions of the ICC World T20 in 2007 under the captaincy of the dashing right-handed Dhoni. The series decider between India and Sri Lanka will be played in Vizag on Sunday where Dhoni’s army will try clinch the series to boost their confidence ahead of the Asia Cup and ICC World T20.

India won the inaugural ICC World T20 trophy

Captains with most number of victories in Twenty20 Internationals

MS Dhoni (India)2007-20165630241155.45
WTS Porterfield (Ire)2008-20164323170357.5
DJG Sammy (WI)2011-20154122161257.69
Shahid Afridi (Pak)2009-20163516181047.14
PW Borren (Neth)2010-20163119120061.29
PD Collingwood (Eng)2007-20113017110260.71
Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)2012-20142917111060.34
GJ Bailey (Aus)2012-20142814131051.78
BB McCullum (NZ)2008-20152813140148.14
DL Vettori (NZ)2007-20102813132050
SCJ Broad (Eng)2011-20142711150142.3
GC Smith (SA)2005-2010271890066.66
Mushfiqur Rahim (Ban)2011-2014238140136.36
F du Plessis (SA)2012-2015221390059.09
KC Sangakkara (SL)2009-2012221390059.09

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment