Favorites Edit

Stats: Rohit Sharma scores fifth-highest ODI score in Australia

13.57K   //    12 Jan 2016, 12:29 IST
Rohit Sharma
Rohit’s unbeaten 171 helped India post their highest ODI total against Australia in Australia

Rohit Sharma ensured that MS Dhoni’s decision to win the toss and bat first proved to be the right one as the opener smashed an unbeaten 171 against Australia in the first ODI at Perth.

After losing his opening partner early, Rohit put on a double-hundred partnership for the second wicket along with Virat Kohli and helped set the platform for a big score by the visitors, which is also incidentally the highest ODI score by India against Australia in Australia.

His 171* was his fourth ODI score of 150 or more, equalling Chris Gayle and Sanath Jayasuriya. Only Sachin Tendulkar, with 5, has more such scores than Rohit Sharma in ODIs.

In terms of the highest ODI score by a batsman in Australia, Rohit’s effort is the fifth-highest. Chris Gayle’s 215 against Zimbabwe in the 2015 World Cup is the highest score by any batsman in Australia. Gayle’s knock included 16 sixes, which was also a record for most in an ODI in Australia.

In second place is another knock from the 2015 World Cup. This time, it was an Australian, as David Warner smashed 178 against Afghanistan in Perth, which is the only score better than Rohit’s knock at the same ground.

The third and fourth place on this list is also held by Australians. Mark Waugh’s 173 against West Indies at the MCG in 2001 is enough for third place while Adam Gilchrist takes the fourth spot thanks to his 172 against Zimbabwe at Hobart in 2004.

Rohit's knock, which takes fifth place is the only unbeaten knock in the top five and in the end, he was just a couple of hits away from being the second-highest. His 171* included 13 fours and 7 sixes.

Here is a list of the top 10 highest scores by a batsman in an ODI in Australia

1Chris Gayle (West Indies)215ZimbabweCanberra2015
2David Warner (Australia)178AfghanistanPerth2015
3Mark Waugh (Australia)173West IndiesMelbourne2001
4Adam Gilchrist (Australia)172ZimbabweHobart2004
5Rohit Sharma (India)171*AustraliaPerth2016
6David Warner (Australia)163Sri LankaBrisbane2012
7AB De Villiers (South Africa)162West IndiesSydney2015
8Shane Watson (Australia)161*EnglandMelbourne2011
9Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)161*BangladeshMelbourne2015
10Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)160*IndiaHobart2012
Topics you might be interested in:
An author, poet, soft skills trainer and sports enthusiast, who has a Masters in Sports Journalism and NCTJ-accredited level 3 Diploma in Journalism
Fetching more content...