New User posted their first comment

TNPL 2019, RTW vs LKK Preview: Winless Ruby Trichy Warriors seek first points against Lyca Kovai Kings

Lyca Kovai Kings team in practice session ahead of their clash against Ruby Trichy Warriors in the ICL- Sankar Nagar Cricket Ground, Tirunelveli
Lyca Kovai Kings team in practice session ahead of their clash against Ruby Trichy Warriors in the ICL- Sankar Nagar Cricket Ground, Tirunelveli
Press Release
Modified 30 Jul 2019, 11:56 IST

Ruby Trichy Warriors are the only team in the eight-team Sankar Cement Tamil Nadu Twenty20 Premier League (TNPL) who are yet to open their account this season and they will be keen to notch their first win when they meet Lyca Kovai Kings at the India Cements Limited- Sankar Nagar ground, Tirunelveli on Saturday evening.

RTW came close to earning their first points in their opening match against iDream Karaikudi Kaalai which ended in a tie but RTW eventually lost in the Super Over. In the second match, they were upstaged by a resurgent Chepauk Super Gillies by 41 runs.

LKK are no pushovers and they will look to come at RTW strongly. After winning their first match against VB Kanchi Veerans by eight wickets, they suffered a narrow six-run defeat to Tuti Patriots in a rain-affected match at NPR College Ground, Natham, Dindigul. Having come so close to a win, they will be eager to go a step further against RTW against whom they hold a 2-1 head-to-head advantage as well. Another fact that puts LKK ahead is that they have qualified for the playoffs in all seasons while RTW is yet to break into the top four.

Match 11:Ruby Trichy Warriors v Lyca Kovai Kings

Venue:India Cements Limited-Sankar Nagar ground, Tirunelveli

When:July 27, 2019 (Saturday)

Match timings:7:15 P.M. onwards

Live on:Star Sports 3, Star Sports (Tamil), Vijay Super 

Players to watch out:Aditya Barooah, P Saravana Kumar (RTW); Antony Dhas, Krishnamoorthy Vignesh (LKK)

Head to Head:RTW 1, LKK 2


2018 league record:RTW 6th; LKK 3rd

2019 record:Ruby Trichy Warriors M2, L2; Lyca Kovai Kings M2, W1, L1


Ruby Trichy Warriors:Aditya Barooah, Aravind S, Maaruthi Raghav, Ganapati Chandrasekar, R Sathyanarayan, Mani Bharathy (WK), P Saravana Kumar, R Sai Kishore (captain), Lakshminarayanan Vignesh, Kannan Vignesh, M Poiyamozhi, Sanjay MS, DT Chandrasekar, Adithya Ganesh, K Mukunth.

Lyca Kovai Kings:M Shahrukh Khan, Abhinav Mukund (captain), Pradosh Ranjan Paul (WK), Malolan Rangarajan, B Anirudh Sita Ram, W Antony Dhas, Thangarasu Natarajan, Krishnamoorthy Vignesh, Akkil Srinaath, S Manigandan, S Ajith Ram, J Suresh Kumar, Ashwin Venkatraman, Muhammad Adnan Khan, RS Jaganath Srinivas.

Umpires:R Rajesh Kannan, M Rajesh Kumar. TV umpire:M Kuppuraj.

Match referee:S Sharath.

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on TNPL teams & squads, points table, news, results, TNPL schedule 2019, most runs, most wickets and fantasy tips.

Published 27 Jul 2019, 08:00 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit