Favorites Edit

Twitter erupts after India takes an unassailable 2-1 lead with their victory in Melbourne

316   //    30 Dec 2018, 21:51 IST

Jasprit Bumrah claimed eight wickets
Jasprit Bumrah claimed eight wickets

The Men in Blue have taken a significant 2-1 lead in the Test series against Australia. Pujara, Kohli, and Bumrah showcased spectacular performances with the bat and ball as India keep the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. It all boils down to the final Test match in Sydney which could become a historic moment for India to nail their initial series Down Under.

Kohli won the toss and batted first. They dropped both the Indian openers as Mayank Agarwal took the Strike along with Hanuma Vihari. Rohit Sharma returned to the starting eleven and Jadeja took up the place of Umesh Yadav. Australia made one change by bringing in all-rounder Mitchell Marsh in place of Peter Handscomb.

The drop-in pitch at Melbourne made life very difficult to score for the batsman as the Indian openers struggled to put together the runs on board. Agarwal and Vihari played for more than an hour to see off the new ball. Vihari got bounced out by a fine short-pitch delivery from Cummins which followed him back to take the glove.

They had set the platform for the Indian middle order with Agarwal made a debut 50. Kohli cashed in with 82 runs before ramping one down the third man‘s throat. Pujara struck another century before he got cleaned up by a delivery which rolled off the pitch.

Rahane got trapped inside the crease by Lyon with a ball which was turning in at ankle length. Pant tried to pull a short one from Starc and skied it up while Jadeja received a cracking delivery as Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten on 63. India declared after posting 443 runs in their first innings. Cummins claimed three wickets conceding 72 runs to remain the pick of the Australian bowlers.

The Kangaroos were straight on the back foot after Finch had chipped one to short mid-wicket. They kept losing wickets at frequent intervals and were powerless to string on partnerships after being bowled out for 151. Tim Paine and Marcus Harris were the leading scorers with each contributing 22 runs. Bumrah claimed six wickets conceding 33 runs. Armed with a lead of 292 runs skipper Kohli decided not to enforce the follow-on.

India did not secure a promising start as Cummins bounced out Vihari yet again. Agarwal produced a crucial knock to score 42 runs before he played one on to his stumps. Aussies dismissed Pujara and Kohli without a run against their name after flicking down to leg slip. Rahane too fell down the leg side as Rohit got cramped for room and knicked one to slips. Pant pulled off a few shots but did not connect a ramp shot which led to his downfall. Jadeja got gobbled up by Cummins who claimed his sixth wicket as Kohli declared the Indian innings at 106.

Australia did not get off the starting blocks, requiring 399 runs for victory. They lost Finch early, and Agarwal pulled off a magnificent catch at short leg to see the back of Harris. Shami trapped Khawaja inside the crease, and Bumrah accounted for Shaun Marsh with a close call on review. Mitch Marsh tried to take on Jadeja and knocked one straight to Kohli at the covers. Travis Head chopped one onto his stumps.

The change in the angle from Jaddu brought about the downfall as Paine knicked one to Pant. Starc swung wildly to get cleaned up by Shami. Bumrah produced a beauty to get rid of Cummins and Ishant bounced out Lyon as India register their 150th Test match win to regain the Trophy.


Twitter reactions below,