New User posted their first comment

Virat Kohli becomes the quickest to score 9000 international runs as captain

Virat Kohli reaches one more milestone as India takes the field against Australia in second ODI
Virat Kohli reaches one more milestone as India takes the field against Australia in second ODI
Mohsin Kamal
Modified 05 Mar 2019, 15:05 IST

Indian skipper, Virat Kohli, on Tuesday became the quickest to reach the 9000-run milestone in international cricket as captain. The batting heavyweight reached this feat in the ongoing second ODI against Australia at Nagpur.

Kohli took 159 innings to score these runs while no other international skipper has even scored 7000 in as meager innings.

Brian Lara with 7000 runs in 164 innings is the second best in the list. The right-handed batsman also is now the only sixth player to score 9000 or more runs as captain in the international cricket, joining the elite club.

He has been in astonishing form ever since he took charge as Indian captain. Be it in the longer-version or limited-overs cricket, the Delhi-born cricketer never misses an opportunity to make it count, hence touching new heights with each passing day.

The 30-year-old has already crossed 10000 runs in ODI cricket while also owns over 6600 Test runs.

He recently went past Indian legend, Sachin Tendulkar to become the fastest to score 10000 runs in One-day internationals.

The way he is playing at now could undoubtedly make him travel the roads that no other cricketer has thus far.

Meanwhile, Kohli touched this milestone in the undergoing ODI against Australia at Nagpur. India lost opener, Rohit Sharma in the very first over, making the skipper get onto the crease early.

The hosts also lost Shikhar Dhawan and Ambati Rayudu in the quick succession, however, Virat is making sure to keep the scoreboard ticking from the other end.

He is nearing his half-century with India struggling at 104-3 in 22 overs. India would be expecting something big from the modern-day batting great to take the 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

Published 05 Mar 2019, 15:05 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit