Create
Notifications
Favorites Edit
Advertisement

WATCH: MS Dhoni wrongly given out in a controversial manner at Sydney

Ashwan Rao
ANALYST
News
11.72K   //    12 Jan 2019, 15:53 IST

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni

What's the story?

Former Indian skipper MS Dhoni was controversially given out during the crucial phase by the umpire during the first ODI against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Grund.

The Background

The first of three-match ODI series between Australia and India began at the SCG on Saturday (January 12th) with the hosts opting to bat first after skipper Aaron Finch won the toss. In spite of losing two wickets with just 41 runs on the board, Australia bounced back to score 288-5 in 50 overs, courtesy half-centuries from Usman Khawaja (59 off 81 balls), Shaun Marsh (54 off 70 balls) and Peter Handscomb (73 off 61 balls).

Meanwhile, Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar scalped his 100th ODI wicket on dismissing Aaron Finch for six runs in the third over of the game.

Chasing 289 runs for clinching a win in the first ODI, India started off their innings in a worst possible manner losing Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli and Ambati Rayudu with just four runs on the board. While Dhawan was out for a 'golden duck' off debutant Jason Behrendorff, skipper Kohli managed just 3 off 8 balls before being dismissed by Jhye Richardson.

Rayudu too went out for a duck off Richardson, before MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma joined hands to provide a 137-run fourth wicket partnership for Team India.

The heart of the matter

Dhoni and Rohit were scoring well for India just when a catastrophe struck the Men in Blue. In the second ball of the 33rd over off Behrendorff, MS Dhoni was wrongly given out by the umpire after the Aussie players went up when the ball hit Dhoni's pads.

As the available review was already used for Ambati Rayudu (review lost as Rayudu was given out), Dhoni had to walk back in spite of the controversial decision at a crucial juncture in the game. The replays later showed that the ball had pitched well outside the leg.

Here is the video:

What's next?

Yet another poor umpiring decision but this might well cost India the game as Rohit and Dhoni were going on well chasing the target of 289.

Tags:
Advertisement