New User posted their first comment

World Cup History: List of players who scored the first century in each edition of the World Cup

Modified 06 Jun 2019, 11:56 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

#10 2011 World Cup: Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag
Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag is counted as one of the most destructive openers in the history of the game. He did not waste any time in making his mark on the 2011 World Cup.

The dashing opener got India off to a great start in the World Cup as he scored 175 vs Bangladesh in the first match of the tournament. The right-handed batsman deservedly won the Man of the Match award as India got off to a fantastic start to the World Cup. Virat Kohli scored a century in the same innings as India won the game by 87 runs. Sehwag scored 380 runs which third most by an Indian in 2011 edition. He played his part in India lifting the World Cup after a period of 28 years.

#9 2007 World Cup: Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting
Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting was one of the captains who believed in leading from the front. He scored a brilliant century in the final of the 2003 World Cup.

The Australian captain started the 2007 edition from where he left in 2003 as he began the tournament with a century. Scotland had to suffer the brunt of Ponting's bat as he scored 113 off just 93 balls. Ponting's century helped Australia in beating Scotland by a huge margin of 203 runs. The Australian captain continued his good show throughout the tournament and notched up 539 runs which is third most in the tournament. Matthew Hayden and Ricky Ponting helped Australia to win their third consecutive World cup.

Published 04 Jun 2019, 16:06 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❀️ Favorites Edit