Favorites Edit

Formula 1: 5 Former F1 drivers who won Indy 500

Top 5 / Top 10
2.80K   //    Timeless

2017 Indy 500
2017 Indy 500

Formula One drivers and fans like to assert that Indycar drivers couldn't make it in F1, and no doubt their counterparts on the Indycar side tend to hold the same views. While Fernando Alonso didn't win the Indy 500 last year, his entry sparked a greater conversation on the ability of F1 drivers to achieve in Indycar.

With 3 former F1 drivers in the 2018 Indy 500, will we see another F1 driver take the crown in Indianapolis this weekend? Maybe, there's no way to tell as of now, but we can take a look at some of the F1 drivers who have done so in the past.

Read on to look at our list of the top 5 F1 drivers to win the Indianapolis 500.

#1 Jim Clark - 1965

Jim Clark driving at the 1965 Indy 500
Jim Clark driving at the 1965 Indy 500

The first Formula One World Champion to win the Indy 500 and till date the only driver to win both the Indy 500 and the Formula One World Title in the same season is Jim Clark.

The Scottish driver had already won the 1963 F1 Driver's Championship with Lotus, and on his way to the 1965 title, he and Lotus decided to stop by in the USA.

Driving in a rear-engine Lotus, Clark qualified behind Indycar legend AJ Foyt, and took the race from him within the opening few laps. By lap 3, Jim Clark was in the lead and maintained first place until the end of the race upon which he was crowned the winner of the 1965 Indy 500.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...