New User posted their first comment

Mclaren-Renault F1


Full NameMcLaren Renault

Nick NameMcLaren


GroundWoking, England

Team Owner(s)Mclaren Limited

Prominent PlayersAyrton Senna , Alan Prost , Mika Haikannen, Kimi Raikkonen , Lewis Hamilton , Jenson Button , Fernando Alonso


Bruce Mclaren founder

McLaren Racing Limited is a British Formula One team based in Woking, England, U K. Bruce McLaren Motor Racing was founded in 1963 by New Zealander Bruce McLaren in the year 1963 and had first podium finish in 1968 in the Belgian Grand Prix. Mclaren tried their hand at Indy 500 in the year 1972 with a win and another win in 1974. Bruce died during a testing session in 1970 and Teddy Mayer took over the team following the demise of the founder.

Ron Dennis Story

1974 marked the beginning of the sponsorship with the Cigarette giant Marlboro for a long term.

Ron Dennis’s Project Four team merged with the Mclaren team and went on to race together briefly before Dennis bought rest of the shares in the company and took over it completely. That marked the start of a great era for Mclaren with Porsche and Honda engines. Niki Lauda, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna did the team proud by winning seven drivers' championships and McLaren six constructors' championships. The team is the second oldest active team (after Ferrari) and one of the most successful teams in Formula One, having won 182 races, 12 drivers' championships and 8 constructors' championships. Further championships came in 1998 and 1999 with driver Mika Hakkinen and during the 2000s the team were consistent front-runners.

Mclaren F1 got Mika Häkkinen, Juan Pablo Montoya to race for them along with Kimi Räikkönen and Heiki Kovalinen until the late 2000s and remained pretty constant at the leaderboard until they brought Lewis Hamilton in 2008 who got them a podium win after a long time.

Ron Dennis gave up the post of the Team Principal at Mclaren in 2009 and Martin Whitmarsh took over to be the principal of the team. After consistently good performances and Lewis Hamilton moving away to the Brawn GP turned to Mercedes team thus leaving Jenson Button with Sérgio Pérez for the 2013 season. In 2015, Whitmarsh announced their end of contract with Mercedes for engines and announced that Honda would be their new engine supplier. The two, Mclaren and Honda were seen together after 1992 which was supposed to be the greatest restart to their old team. But Honda’s engines were not consistent through out their two seasons and had two very bad and disappointing seasons.

The Mclaren cars have always had the name MP4(Marlboro Project 4) after the merger with Ron Dennis’ team Project Four and thus was called the MP4/x. When Marlboro decided to leave Mclaren, they termed it as McLaren Project 4. It was used until the 2017 season when they decided that they will not be using the MP4 and would be using MCL/x for their next generation of cars.

The cars under the Honda regime had one of the most iconic liveries along with the cigarette brand colour coordinating with white and red with that of Honda. The next set of cars from the late 2000s were silver and red to co-ordinate with that of Vodafone and since 2015, they have gone back to Black and Orange as they were the corporate and signature colors of McLaren and they reverted back to them. 

Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit