Favorites Edit

5 key stats after an enthralling 2015 Monaco Grand Prix

Armaan Gill
2.28K   //    25 May 2015, 13:16 IST

           With the Monaco Grand Prix coming to a close last night, here are 5 interesting statistics in the history of the Monaco GP:             

  1. Nico Rosberg of Germany has now won for three years in succession in Monaco, a feat only three other men in history - Graham Hill, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna - have achieved.
Nico Rosberg after winning the 2015 Monaco GP
    1. Rosberg also moved level with Stirling Moss and Jackie Stewart in terms of overall wins in Monaco, with three. Only Senna (6), Graham Hill and Michael Schumacher (both 5) and Prost (4) have won more.
Alain prost 1986
Alain Prost (C) after his Monaco hat-trick in 1986. (L) Ayrton Senna, (R) Keke Rosberg, father of Nico Rosberg


  1. Rosberg's fourth podium in a row here, after he finished second in 2012 and then embarked upon his winning run. Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso have also claimed four podiums here, but of that trio only Alonso has won more than once. 
rosberg after his win
Rosberg crossing the chequered flag on his way to winning the 2015 Monaco Grand Prix

  1. Fernando Alonso recorded his first DNF in the Principality since 2004. Alonso's retirement also ended a run of 10 consecutive points finishes here.
Fernando Alonso after his crash in the 2004 Monaco GP

  1. Hamilton also became only the second polesitter in the last decade to not go on and claim victory in the Monaco GP. Ironically, the last time it happened he was the beneficiary, coming through from third on the grid to claim victory in a wet race in 2008.
Hamilton congratulating teammate Rosberg on his win at 2015 Monaco GP
Topics you might be interested in:
Armaan Gill
#Engineer #Bangalore #sports #enthusiast #aspiring #writer
Fetching more content...