Everything you need to know about the German Grand Prix

Modified 18 Jul 2014
German Grand Prix

Do you know who won the German Grand Prix the last two times it was held in Hockenheim? Do you know how many Germans have competed in the German Grand Prix? Or where the inaugural German Grand Prix was held? If you don’t, simply read on to find out!Circuit: HockenheimringCircuit length: 4.574 kmNumber of corners: 17 (6 left, 11 right)DRS zones: 2Race laps: 67Race distance: 306.458 km2014 tyre compounds: Super Soft, SoftCircuit lap record: 1m 13.780s - Kimi Raikkonen, McLaren, 2004  

About the Circuit

German Grand Prix is one of the oldest in Formula One. It is one of three tracks in F1 to have hosted 60 races so far. The circuit that is currently being used is Hockenheim, which was built in 1932, as a 6.7-kilometer track.

Since hosting its first Formula 1 race in 1970, the track has remained relatively unchanged. In 2001 however, it was made shorter, the asphalt was smoothened and the average speed became significantly lower. Although it is nowhere near as long as the old track, qualifying has gained significant importance as nobody from outside the top three has won since 2001.


- There have been 60 German Grand Prix held so far, 33 of which were in Hockenheim, 26 in Nurburgring and one in Berlin.
- Seventeen of the 33 races (51.5%) held in Hockenheim have been won from pole position.
- In the current field, Jenson Button (10) has made the most appearances on this track, whilst Kimi Raikonnen and Fernando Alonso are tied- second with 8 appearances.
- Michael Schumacher holds the record for the most wins all-time on this track with 4, while Alonso leads the current drivers with three wins.
- Ferrari has the most pole positions on this track (19), while both Jim Clark and Jacky Ickx both have 4 pole positions.
- Ferrari have won a staggering 21 times while Williams are a distant second with 9 wins.
- The lowest grid position from which a driver has won the race is 18th. This was achieved in 2000 when Ferrari’s Rubens Barrichello stormed through to his one and only German Grand Prix victory. 
- Amongst the current field, Alonso has led the most laps with 122 while Lewis Hamilton is second with 92.
- Alonso has won on his last two visits to Hockenheim and also has the most podium finishes among the current field with 5. Four of the last ten races have had at least a single safety car appearance.
- Four of the last ten races have had at least a single safety car appearance.
- The inaugural German Grand Prix was won by Alberto Ascari in 1951, but the first Grand Prix in Hockenheim was won by Jochen Rindt of Lotus in 1970.
- 42 German drivers have started the Austrian Grand Prix, but only three of them have managed to win it.
- Michael Schumacher, Ralf Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel are the three Germans who have won their home Grand Prix.
- Kimi Raikkonen failed to finish in each of his first five races at Hockenheim.
- Ferrari have now gone 76 consecutive races in the points, with Alonso recording 12 straight races in the points.
- Nico Hulkenberg has now recorded 11 consecutive races in the points and he along with Alonso are the only two drivers to have finished in the points in every race in 2014.
- Jenson Button will take third place in the list of all-time race starts when he starts in Germany, which will be his 257th race start.
- If a Ferrari-powered car wins the race, it’ll be the first Ferrari turbo win since the 1988 Italian Grand Prix.

Published 18 Jul 2014
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now