Write & Earn

All you need to know ahead of the 2015 Mexican GP

Nico Rosberg will start the race in top position, with Hamilton and Vettel in second and third respectively

Nico Rosberg finished on pole while Hamilton and Vettel finished in second and third respectively

Mexico will be hosting the Grand Prix for the frist time since 1992, and Nico Rosberg of Mercedes will be starting the race from pole position. The German beat his rival and team-mate Lewis Hamilton to top spot after finishing the race in 1:19.480. It’s his 4th consecutive pole position this season.

Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari also put up a good fight, but was unfortunate to finish in third position after falling short by four-tenths of a second to Rosberg. 

Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Riccardo of Red Bull Racing put in good performances as well, which saw them capture the fourth and fifth position respectively. Riccardo was only one thousandth of a second behind Russian teammate Kvyat.

Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa from Williams were the racers to finish in sixth and seventh place, with qualifying times of 1:20.448 and 1:20.567. 

The session though took a toll on McLaren as their two racers were unable to make it into the top 10 due to engine problems. Fernando Alonso will be starting from the 15th position as he was penalised for an engine and gearbox change. 

Jenson Button, on the other hand, will start last as he was not even able to run, as he was not able to resolve a engine signal problem on his car from FP3.

Torro Rosso’s Max Verstappen managed an eighth-place finish ahead of Force India’s Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg.

At the back, the Finn who had to get his gearbox changed took a five-place grid drop, while Kimi Raikkonen finished in 1m 22.494s after having a brake problems and a spin in Turn 1 on his way to on mediums.

Qualifying Position

Position Driver Team Time
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:19.480
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:19.668
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:19.850
4 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull Racing 1:20.398
5 Daniel Riccardo Red Bull Racing 1:20.399
6 Valtteri Bottas  Willams  1:20.448
7 Felipe Massa  Williams 1:20.567
8 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:20.710
9 Sergio Perez Force India 1:20.716
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:20.788
Fetching more content...