New User posted their first comment

Williams F1


Full NameWilliam Martini Racing

Nick NameWilliams F1



Team Owner(s)Frank Willams

Prominent PlayersAyrton Senna, Robert Kubica, Felipe Massa, Valtteri Bottas, Lance Stroll, Sergey Sirotkin


Williams F1 Team was formed in 1977 after Frank Williams had two unsuccessful attempts in 1965 and 1976, before finally starting out in 1977. Patrick Nève and Clay Regazzoni were the initial drivers for the Williams racing team. Their first podium finish came only in 1979 at Silverstone. They were continuously at the helm after they won their first constructors championship in 1980 along with the drivers championship in the same year. They went on to win for the next year as well in 1981 and anther drives championship in 1982,1986,1987,1992,1993,1996,1997 respectively

The team celebrated their 100th victory in 1997 with driver Jacques Villeneuve clenching the honours which were contributed by the likes of some legendary drivers like Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, Nelson Piquet, Keke Rosberg and the legend Ayrton Senna who sadly passed away driving for Williams in 1994 at Imola.

Williams have won five constructors championships with French engine builder Renault. Not only does Williams have a high innovation technology interest but it also puts it in use for commercial applications. They have closely worked with Jaguar for designing and implementing for their current generation of sports cars.

In 2000, BMW signed a 6 year deal to supply engines along with test and development with an expectations from Williams that they should have a German driver onboard which lead to the signing of Ralf Schumacher alongside Juan Pablo Montoya after whom Jenson Button was brought onboard after Montoya left for Mclaren. Mark Webber was got in and so was Nick Heidfeld after Ralf left for Toyota Racing. After 2006, BMW left the deal with Williams after which they still were stuck to the Blue and White colour and livery which was their signature during their stint with BMW. 

The team switched to a Cosworth engine in 2008 and immediately went to Toyota engines for the 2009 season briefly before moving back to Cosworth for 2010-2011 seasons. Williams called their old friends from France, Renault for their 2012/2013 seasons when they got Bruno Senna to replace Rubens Barrichello alongside Pastor Maldonado. Valtteri Bottas was brought on after Pastor Maldonado wasn’t performing right neither was his car often in a single piece. 

Since 2014, Mercedes have been Williams’ engine suppliers and this has been the best partnership they have had since the Renault deal in 1989-1997. Felipe Massa retired from Formula 1 in 2016 along with Nico Rosberg and the departure of Bottas who had been performing historically well for Williams and got them a few podium finishes after a of almost 7 years



The team currently has four points in total after six races of the season and are last in the constructors standings. Currently racing for Williams are the Canadian driver Lance Stroll and the Russian driver Sergey Sirotkin who recently joined the team for 2018.

Team Principal: Sir Frank Williams , Claire Williams.

Current Drivers: Sergey Sirotkin, Lance Stroll.

Base: Oxfordshire,England.

Founded: 1977.

Engine Builder: Mercedes

Constructors Championships: 9

Drivers Championship: 7

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit