BREAKING: 2023 F1 season calendar released

F1 Grand Prix of Belgium - Previews
The F1 logo is pictured in the paddock during previews ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Belgium at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on August 25, 2022, in Spa-Francorchamps Belgium. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

The World Motorsport Council has finally approved the 2023 F1 calendar, which will feature a record 24 races. The 2023 season will commence on March 5th and conclude on November 26th.

Announcing the 2023 calendar, FIA President Ben Sulayem said:

“The presence of 24 races on the 2023 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar is further evidence of the growth and appeal of the sport on a global scale. The addition of new venues and the retention of traditional events underlines the FIA’s sound stewardship of the sport. I am delighted that we will be able to take Formula 1’s new era of exciting racing, created by the FIA’s 2022 Regulations, to a broader fan base in 2023. In framing the 2023 F1 calendar, WMSC Members have also been mindful of the timing of the prestigious 24 Hours of Le Mans.”

The 2023 calendar will feature 24 races, including three in the United States of America. Next season will also see the return of the Qatar GP and the Chinese GP. The new addition to the calendar will be the Las Vegas GP, which will be the second last round on the calendar in November.

While teams have been against long calendars due to the logistical challenges and physical fatigue imposed on the team personnel, the growing demand for the sport has made it difficult to keep the calendar for less than 23 races. With the season opener scheduled for March 5th, it leaves the teams with a shorter off-season, with pre-season tests potentially scheduled for February.

What does the 2023 F1 season calendar look like?

The confirmed 2023 F1 calendar approved by the WMSC and released by the FIA is as follows:

DateGrand PrixVenue
March 5BahrainSakhir
March 19Saudi ArabiaJeddah
April 2AustraliaMelbourne
April 16ChinaShanghai
April 30AzerbaijanBaku
May 7MiamiMiami
May 21Emilia RomagnaImola
May 28MonacoMonaco
June 4SpainBarcelona
June 18CanadaMontreal
July 2AustriaSpielberg
July 9United KingdomSilverstone
July 23HungaryBudapest
July 30BelgiumSpa
August 27NetherlandsZandvoort
September 3ItalyMonza
September 17SingaporeSingapore
September 24JapanSuzuka
October 8QatarLosail
October 22USAAustin
October 29MexicoMexico City
November 5BrazilSao Paulo
November 18Las VegasLas Vegas
November 26Abu DhabiYas Marina

Despite concerns about a lengthening season, the calendar will see two triple headers and six double headers. The preseason test dates are yet to be confirmed and are presumably scheduled for February.

Quick Links

Edited by Anurag C
App download animated image Get the free App now