Favorites Edit

Top 5 rivalries in the history of Formula 1

Top 5 / Top 10
4.38K   //    21 Mar 2018, 01:45 IST

This rivalry has been going on throughout this decade
This rivalry has been going on throughout this decade

The Formula 1 season is upon us and this season could be as exciting as the last one. Both Sebastian Vettel, and Lewis Hamilton, have won 4 World Championships so far and both of them will be looking to win their 5th Championship.

Formula 1 has produced some amazing rivalries over the years. Before the famous Vettel-Hamilton rivalry, there have been many drivers going head to head with each other fighting for the Championship.

Let's take a look at some of the famous rivalries that have taken place over the course of time:

#5 Fernando Alonso (Renault) and Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

Alonso and Schumacher
Alonso and Schumacher

Most rivalries in F1 are based on bad blood between the drivers. But, this was different. The Alonso-Schumacher rivalry was about the changing trends in F1.

Micheal Schumacher had won 5 consecutive World Championships from 2000 to 2004 and, was already the greatest F1 drivers at that time. In 2005, Fernando Alonso overtook Schumacher and won the World Championship for the first time. Schumacher had given up midway through the season and, said that there was no way he could chase down Alonso and beat him.

In 2006, Alonso and Schumacher went head to head once again, the former with Renault and, the latter with Ferrari. The most famous incident of the 2006 season, was in the Monaco Grand Prix when, Schumacher stopped his car in the middle of the track during the qualifying round, to obstruct Alonso's lap.

Schumacher lost the Championship to Alonso in the Brazilian Grand Prix, which was the last race of the season. Schumacher produced a truly heroic performance, by starting 10th on the grid and, falling down to 19th midway through the race.

His brilliant performance earned him the 4th spot, while Alonso finished 2nd, and won the World Championship 2 years in a row. Alonso became the youngest driver to win 2 consecutive Championships and, Schumacher retired after the season.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...