⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

4 awards which should also be given out at the Ballon d'Or ceremony 

Taha Memon
Top 5 / Top 10
Published Dec 02, 2019
Dec 02, 2019 IST

The Ballon d
The Ballon d'Or

The Ballon d'Or ceremony is almost here. It's that time of the year when players are rewarded for their brilliance, and they get recognised as being the best in the world at what they do. This year, the race for the Ballon d'Or is expected to be between Lionel Messi and Virgil van Dijk. Regardless of who wins it, none can say that the victory was not well deserved.

No player has ever entered the world of team sports for individual glory. However, it always feels nice to be validated and appreciated for all the hard work you do. Football has awards for coaches, players, and goal of the year, and yet there are some categories not given a nod.

A few new awards should be introduced, which would make the event all the more exciting, giving some players the recognition they deserve. Here are four awards which should be given out each year.

Also read - The all-time Ballon d'Or XI

#4 Position centric award for the best player

Despite Virgil van Dijk
Despite Virgil van Dijk's amazing season, he is not the favourite for the Ballon d'Or

The concept of positional awards has existed for some time now. UEFA used to award the best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, and forward in the world, but they discontinued the concept from 2010.

However, seeing the importance of these awards, the organisation brought the concept back in 2017, and the awards have been well received by the fans.

The Ballon d'Or is the biggest ceremony in the footballing world, and they must start awarding these too. The likes of Marc Andre Ter Stegen and Toni Kroos are world-class players who will never be on the Ballon d'Or podium simply because of how we perceive the game.

Barring Luka Modric, the Ballon d'Or has become an award that favours forwards. Even though Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have deserved every honour which they have received, it's hard to see the trend change in the coming years even after these two aliens take a bow. Players such as Kylian Mbappe will always be frontrunners for the award over players like Frenkie De Jong.


In the Best FIFA Football Awards, the organisation has started to award the best goalkeeper, but the other categories are not covered yet. Moreover, as aforementioned, the Ballon d'Or ceremony is more valuable and attracts a larger audience than any other award ceremony.

Therefore, they should start honouring players who have been the best in their position for that particular year.

1 / 4 NEXT
Fetching more content...