⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

5 occasions when the Premier League has been won early

Rushabh Shah
Top 5 / Top 10
Published 14 Mar 2018, 03:35 IST
14 Mar 2018, 03:35 IST

Manchester City v Chelsea - Premier League
Manchester City are all set to be crowned Premier League Champions.

The Premier League is considered to be the most competitive football league in the world. However, somehow, that does not seem to apply to Pep Guardiola's current 2017-18 Manchester City squad.

Brushing apart teams with equal ruthlessness as swag, (as of March 13, 2018), Manchester City are walking unobstructed towards their third Premier League title in their history. With eight games remaining to play, City look all set to wrap up their title victory as early as April 7.

With a victory over neighbors United at home on April 7, Manchester City would be inscribing their name on the Premier League trophy with five matches to go. But where does it rank amongst the earliest title victories in the history of Premier League?

#5 Chelsea (2014/15, three matches remaining)

Chelsea v Sunderland - Premier League
Chelsea won the title in 2014-15 with three matches to spare

Games remaining before title victory: Three

Matches won/lost: 26/3

Last 6 matches results:

26 April 2015 - Draw (Arsenal 0-0 Chelsea)

29 April 2015 - Win (Leicester City 1-3 Chelsea)


3 May 2015 - Win (Chelsea 1-0 Crystal Palace)*

10 May 2015 - Draw (Chelsea 1-1 Liverpool)

18 May 2015 - Lost (West Bromwich 3-0 Chelsea)

24 May 2015 - Win (Chelsea 3-1 Sunderland)

With just three defeats in the entire season, Chelsea wrapped up their title victory on May 3, 2015, with a 1-0 victory over fellow Londoners Crystal Palace, at Stamford Bridge.

An Eden Hazard goal sent the Blues 16 points clear at the top and that was more than enough to secure the fourth Premier League title in their history.

How did the season pan out?

Jose Mourinho's second season in charge of his return to Chelsea was indeed bountiful. To begin with, Chelsea signed the eccentric Diego Costa from Atletico Madrid and Cesc Fabregas from Barcelona, followed by the re-arrival of their legendary striker Didier Drogba.

At the end of the season, not only did Mourinho end up winning the Premier League Manager of the Season award, but his star player Eden Hazard also managed to scoop up the Premier League Player of the Season and the PFA Players' Player of the Season awards. Additionally, six of the 11 players in the PFA Team of the Year were Chelsea players.

In the end, Chelsea's closest competitors remained Manchester City who struggled to cut down the lead and eventually finished eight points behind Chelsea.

The Blues' spent 274 days at the top of the Premier League, a record high.

While Chelsea always managed to remain at the top at the end of every month, however, on the first day of the new year in 2015, Manchester City managed to equalised Chelsea's point tally (46) as the Blues succumbed to a rare defeat against Tottenham.

A draw and a loss to Everton and Arsenal respectively by Manchester City ensured Chelsea managed to end January as the league leaders and eventually hold on to that lead to win the title.

(* - Bold text indicates the match that sealed their title win)

1 / 5 NEXT
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 15:10 IST
Fetching more content...