Favorites Edit

7 players who deserve the Golden Foot award 

Chinmay Pagar
Top 5 / Top 10
19.53K   //    11 Nov 2017, 21:35 IST

San Iker; Casillas won the 2017 edition of the award
Casillas won the 2017 edition of the award

The Golden Foot is an event held in the Principality of Monaco. The award is given to a currently active player above the age of 28 and can be won only once.

10 nominees are selected by a panel of international journalists and the eventual winner is decided by online voting. Started in 2003, The Golden Foot has a list of legendary recipients in the last 15 years.

Looking at the currently active players above the age of 28, here are 7 players who deserve the award.

#7 Dani Alves

Dani Alves is a serial collector of titles

If there is one player who doesn’t age and just keeps getting better, it is the Brazilian Dani Alves.

The right-back found the perfect balance between attack and defence at Barcelona and was part of Pep’s all-conquering team.

“When we retire, people will ask: who was the greatest? ‘Messi’ and who gave him the passes? ‘Dani Alves’.” Dani once said. And he wasn’t lying; the right-back made 42 assists for Messi, more than both Xavi and Iniesta. This just tells us how big a threat Dani Alves is in the attack. He has also saved Barca on various occasion with his timely tackles.

Currently, at PSG, Alves has been phenomenal at every club he has played.

He helped Sevilla win two consecutive UEFA Super Cups and Europa League titles (then UEFA Cup) before moving to Barca. At Camp Nou, the defender played some of his best football as he won 23 trophies, including 6 La Liga and 3 Champions League titles.

Last year at Juventus, he played a crucial role is Turin club’s journey to the final in Champions League and Seria A triumph. France, the Brazilian is now playing like a man on a mission, having already scored from a free-kick and assisting a few to his fellow countryman, Neymar. If he can do such things at 34, why the hell should anyone else win the Golden Foot?

1 / 7 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Chinmay Pagar
Fetching more content...