New User posted their first comment

African Football Awards of the Year: Yaya Toure Player of the Year for record 4th consecutive time

  • African Football Awards of the Year ceremony was held earlier today, where...
Modified 09 Jan 2015, 05:22 IST
Yaya Toure notched 20 goals in leading Manchester City to regain the Premier League title last season

The annual Confederation of African Football Award winners have been named, and Ivory Coast’s Yaya Toure has created history of sorts by bagging the biggest individual award for a record 4th consecutive time. The Manchester City captain edged out competition from Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama to be ‘African Player of the Year’ for 2014.

Toure joins Samuel Eto'o as the only players to have won the continent's top individual award four times, but only Toure has done it in successive years, starting from 2011.

"I've been very blessed all these years," Toure said at the ceremony. "I want to thank all the football fans and say 'Thank you Africa'." Toure will lead his country at this month's African Nations Cup finals in Equatorial Guinea.

Porto’s Brahimi most promising African player

Algeria’s Yacine Brahimi was named the Most Promising Talent of the Year, while it was Algeria who were pronounced the African National Team of the Year. Cameroonian club Oryx Douala was given the Legend award. 

Algerian club ES Setif were named the African Club Team of the Year and their coach Kheïreddine Madoui as the Coach of the Year.

Published 09 Jan 2015, 04:49 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit