⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Ballon d'Or: 3 reasons why it is time to revisit the criteria on how the winner should be decided

Modified 20 Dec 2019, 20:11 IST

The Ballon d
The Ballon d'Or

When it comes to deciding the best player of the year, there are a few awards that put the stamp of authority of the player who has performed the best in the season or the calendar year. We have the FIFA Best Player award, the Ballon d'Or and others to write the history books for revisiting in the future.

For the last decade, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have made the awards unreachable for their contemporary superstars. Kaka was the last person to achieve the distinction of winning the Ballon d'Or apart from the duo.

But this year, the scenario has changed as Luka Modric is emerging as the strongest contender for the award.

That said, after doing a bit of analysis from the past, it can be concluded that the way the award has been handed in the past, needs to be revisited. The Ballon d'Or is more easily accessible to forwards as compared to goalkeepers, defenders and midfielders, which is not appropriate.

Let us have a look at why and how the award could be made reachable for the ones who are also part of a winning team and are sometimes more important to the success of the team than the forwards.

#1. Forwards are not always the best in a campaign

Cristiano Ronaldo - The reigning Ballon d
Cristiano Ronaldo - The reigning Ballon d'Or winner

The history of the Ballon d'Or suggests that it has been dominated by forwards. Lev Yashin is the only goalkeeper to have won the award, in 1963. Franz Beckenbauer in 1972 and 1976 while Fabio Cannavaro in 2006 are the only defenders to have won the award.

Forwards have won the award a whopping 39 times, while the midfielders have managed to sweep it 19 times. The distribution does not go well with the backline of any team. Midfielders too are not quite in pole position for the award, although they are better placed then the defenders and the goalkeepers.

Gianluigi Buffon, Andres Iniesta, Wesley Sneijder and Frank Ribery are some of the names who were the worthy candidates for the award during their times. However, they were cruelly snubbed. (Read here for more on the snubs).


This discrepancy demands a better criterion for adjudging the winner of the award.

1 / 3 NEXT
Published 04 Dec 2018, 02:54 IST
Fetching more content...