⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Breaking: 10-man shortlist for African Player of the Year announced

  • Reigning African Player of the Year Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Riyad Mahrez lead the list of nominees for the prestigious award.
Sai Teja
Modified 21 Dec 2019, 01:14 IST

Manchester City v Chelsea FC - Premier League
Manchester City v Chelsea FC - Premier League

A shortlist of 10 players nominated for the African Footballer of the Year has been officially announced by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Wednesday. After an initial list of 30 nominees was announced on November 24th, the CAF has now narrowed the list down to the final 10.

Liverpool's explosive wing pair Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane have both made it to the final shortlist after their Champions League heroics. Salah and Mane had to share the Premier League Golden boot with Arsenal and Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who also makes the cut for the final 10. The Egyptian, who is the reigning African Player of the Year has already won the award on two occasions and is one of the favourites to win the award for a third consecutive time.

After a relatively quiet season with Manchester City, Riyad Mahrez spearheaded Algeria to the African Cup of Nations in majestic fashion, leading to a 10th placed finish in the Ballon d'Or rankings and a nomination for the African Player of the Year. Two of his Algerian teammates Ismail Bennacer and Youcef Belaili have made the list along with the former Leicester City man.

Napoli's defensive rock Kalidou Koulibaly, Ajax pair Andre Onana and Hakim Ziyech, and former Watford forward Odion Ighalo complete the top 10 list.

The winner will be crowned on Tuesday, 7 January 2020, at Citadel Azure, Hurghada, Egypt.

Published 04 Dec 2019, 18:37 IST
Fetching more content...