Favorites Edit

Chelsea's different managers in the Roman Abramovich era: How did they all fare?

Rushabh Shah
Top 5 / Top 10
9.48K   //    Timeless

Swansea City v Chelsea - Premier League
Is he on his way out?

May 3, 2015 - Jose Mourinho helps Chelsea win their 4th Premier League title after condemning Crystal Palace to a 1-0 defeat at Stamford Bridge.

Dec 17, 2015 - Seven months after helping them to their 4th Premier League title, Chelsea sack Jose Mourinho after a string of poor results, the embarrassing 2-1 defeat to Leicester City being the last straw.

May 12, 2017 - Antonio Conte leads Chelsea to their 5th Premier League in his very first season in charge.

Feb 6, 2018 - Conte dares Chelsea to sack him after and questions whether his players have the mentality to play for a big club after an embarrassing 4-1 defeat to high-flying Watford.

Déjà vu much for Chelsea fans? In this topsy-turvy league called the Premier League, team owners are notorious for growing impatient with their managers, particularly more if the team is vying to win the holy grail of English football - The Premier League trophy.

Leicester has done it in the past, so have Manchester United, Liverpool and Manchester City. However, one team which comes out right at the top of this list would be none other than current defending champions Chelsea.

After a shock 4-1 defeat away at Watford, is Antonio Conte on his way out, like the 11 different managers before him who unfortunately incurred the wrath of their Russian owner Roman Abramovich?

Check out this list below to see all the different managers who've been at the helm of Stamford Bridge since they first won the Premier League title in 2005.

#1 José Mourinho

Chelsea Training & Press Conference
José Mourinho helped Chelsea win their 1st Premier League title in 2005

Tenure: June 2, 2004 - September 19, 2007 (1205 days)

Matches: 185

Matches won: 124

Matches lost: 21

Win %: 67%

Honours: 2005 Football League Cup, 2005 Premier League, 2005 FA Community Shield, 2006 Premier League, 2007 Football League Cup, 2007 FA Cup

Proclaiming himself as 'The Special One', Mourinho lifted the league title (Chelsea's first in 50 years) and also the Football League Cup in his debut season.

In the years to follow, till his exit in 2007 by "mutual consent", Mourinho turned Chelsea into a powerhouse, winning the league title again, the Community Shield and two more domestic cups in three seasons at charge before friction between him and the owner Roman Abramovich led to his unceremonious exit on 19 September 2007.

However, Mourinho left as the most successful manager in Chelsea's history till 2007, by remaining undefeated in all home league games, turning Stamford Bridge into a fortress.

1 / 11 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Rushabh Shah
Web Developer | Blogger | Public Relations Consultant | Aspiring Content-writer | Manchester United fan
Fetching more content...