Write & Earn
Notifications

Diego Simeone: Too early to rule Diego Costa out of Champions League final

Diego Costa

Atletico Madrid manager Diego Simeone has revealed that it is too early to rule star striker Diego Costa out of the Champions League final against Real Madrid this Saturday.

Costa was injured in the first half of the La Liga title decider with Barcelona at the Camp Nou. He limped off the pitch with a grade one hamstring injury and was seen sitting on the bench in tears. However, Atletico went on to draw the game 1-1 and win the title.

Simeone said: "The week has just started, there are still some days until we have to decide. It's still early."

Costa will be evaluated on a day-to-day basis to see whether he can take part in the final in Lisbon.

There were doubts on whether he would make it to Spain’s World Cup squad too after a Spanish FA spokesperson said it was doubtful he would make it. But that has turned out to be utrue as he could be fit for the showpiece event in Brazil next month.

Arda Turan was also a casualty in the same game with a hip problem but there is no update on his fitness and availabiilty yet.

Fetching more content...