Favorites Edit

Germany announce 30-man provisional squad; Gomez out, Khedira makes the cut

Snehartho Dey
14.50K   //    08 May 2014, 17:28 IST

Joachim Low attends the Germany FIFA World Cup 2014 Squad Announcement press conference

Germany’s coach, Joachim Low, has announced a 30-man provisional squad for the upcoming  2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The squad will be cut down to 25 men who will be taken to the training camp. The final 23 players will be announced on 2nd June after excluding two more from the camp.

Low has included some usual suspects from the previous edition of the tournament  which includes experienced players like Miroslav Klose (who will look to break Ronaldo’s 15-goal record in the World Cup), Philip Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Thomas Muller and Manuel Neuer.

But he has also made some unproven new additions like Leon Goretzka, Shkodran Mustafi, Eric Durm and Max Meyer who will get a chance to prove they merit a place in the squad.

Borussia Dortmund midfielder ?lkay Gündo?an misses out through a back injury while Sami Khedira who was out of action for 6 months gets to feature in the midfield for the Germans.

The Arsenal trio of Podolski, Mestut Ozil and Per Mertesacker have been included in the squad.

Dortmund’s Kevin Großkreutz and Marcel Schmelzer get their first chance. Lars Bender makes it, while his twin Sven Bender has been left out.

Manuel Neuer, as expected, will be first choice goalkeeper with Roman Weidenfeller and Ron Robert-Zieler his backups.

Some notable players have been omitted which include strikers Mario Gomez and Max Kruse along with goalkeepers Andre Marc Ter-stegen and Rene Adler.

Perhaps, this was the most difficult team to pick as there are loads of talents at disposal for Joachim Low to pick from.

Germany have been seeded in a tough group against Portugal, USA and Ghana. They will play their first match on June 16 against Portugal.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Roman Weidenfeller,Ron-Robert Zieler

Defenders: Eric Durm, Jerome Boateng, Kevin Großkreutz, Benedict Höwedes, Matt Hummels, Marcell Jansen, Phillip Lahm, Per Mertesacker, Shkodran Mustafi, Marcel Schmelzer.

Midfielders: Lars Bender, Julian Draxler, Matthias Ginter, Leon Goretzka, Mario Götze, André Hahn, Sami Khedira, Toni Kroos, Max Meyer, Thomas Müller, Mesut Ozil, Marco Reus.

Forwards: Lukas Podolski, Andre Schurrle, Miroslav Klose,KevinVolland

— Squawka Football (@Squawka) May 8, 2014

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...