Favorites Edit

Greatest XI of all time - Tottenham Hotspur?

U. K. Dey
Top 5 / Top 10
10.79K   //    23 Oct 2017, 20:29 IST

Tottenham Hotspur v A.F.C. Bournemouth - Premier League
Some of the current players might as well go down as the club's greatest

Okay, let’s get straight to the point: it is time to evaluate the greatest XI in the history of Tottenham Hotspur. The criteria used here to pick the players are the number of years spent at the club, how good they were in that time, how much of a global impact they had and how good they went on to became at their peaks – even if they weren’t playing for Tottenham at that point.

Since this is an all-time XI, compiling it is quite hard due to the fact that the North London club have had a lot of good players playing for them, so much that the likes of Paul Gascoigne, Harry Kane and Christian Eriksen have missed out from the final list.

The formation used here is a 3-4-1-2 in order to accommodate an extra creative player while also not hindering the defensive strength of the team by much. The formation can easily shift to a 4-3-3 when Spurs don’t have the possession.

So, here we go.

Goalkeeper: Pat Jennings

Pat Jennings
Pat Jennings is Spurs' best ever goalkeeper

Right now, we see Hugo Lloris defending the nets between the sticks for Tottenham Hotspur – and he does it quite amicably. The Frenchman took over from Brad Friedel in 2013 and has since held his position as the first-choice goalkeeper at the North London outfit.

In his four years as a first-choice, Lloris has established himself as one of the club’s greatest ever goalkeepers, but he is still quite far away from the man who is still regarded as Tottenham’s best ever shotstopper: Pat Jennings.

Not only is Jennings a highly revered figured by the Lilywhites, he is also much admired by the British people in general due to his outstanding abilities as a goalkeeper.

The now-retired Jennings played a record 119 times for Northern Ireland – an achievement that still stands unbroken – and is still among the only two goalkeepers to win the PFA Player of the Year, which he won in 1976.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
U. K. Dey
Writing was just a hobby I picked to escape from the stress of A-levels. And now, it is exactly what pays my bills every month. Write for multiple platforms with interest in both football and cricket. Have a tendency to be on the dark side.
Fetching more content...