Favorites Edit

Jose Mourinho and Eden Hazard pick up Barclays Premier League awards

Martin Joseph
4.07K   //    22 May 2015, 11:22 IST
Eden Hazard Jose Mourinho
Eden Hazard and Jose Mourinho have won the yearly Barclays awards

Premier League champions Chelsea capped off their fine season with a clean sweep of the annual Premier League awards. Jose Mourinho won the Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year award while Eden Hazard was voted the Barclays Premier League Player of the Year.

Mourinho, who had failed to win a single Manager of the Month award over the course of the season was selected ahead of other nominees like Ronaldo Koeman, Nigel Pearson, Arsene Wenger and Gary Monk for the end of the season award.

The Portuguese manager had won the award for the first time during the 2004/05 and then went on to win it in the 2005/06 season. Hazard’s win comes as yet another personal accolade after winning the PFA Player of the Year award as well as the Football Writer’s Association Footballer of the Year.

Hazard scored 14 goals this season in the Premier League and was instrumental for Chelsea in the title winning campaign. The Belgian pipped his Chelsea teammates John Terry, Cesc Fabregas and Nemanja Matic for the award.

Jose Mourinho won his third Premier League title with the Blues and managed to pip Manchester City to the title this time. Chelsea won the title with three games to spare. And it was Eden Hazard who scored the winner against Crystal Palace which clinched the title.  

Topics you might be interested in:
Martin Joseph
Fetching more content...