Jose Mourinho threatened to walk out of his post-match media conference when quizzed about his defender Branislav Ivanovic’s alleged head-butt attempt. The Serb’s clash with Everton’s James McCarthy was the talking point as Chelsea escaped with a narrow 1-0 win against the Toffees courtesy of a last minute Willian goal.
The event occurred after Nemanja Matic’s goal, four minutes from time, was ruled out for offside as the ball seemed to have struck Ivanovic’s shoulder on its way past Everton goalkeeper Tim Howard. As tempers rose, players from both teams clashed when Everton’s Gareth Barry was sent off due to a second yellow card after tripping Willian.
In the resulting ruckus, Ivanovic looked to have moved his head towards James McCarthy. Referee John Moss seemed to miss the incident as he didn’t caution the Serbian. It has been said that Ivanovic could face retrospective action from the Football Association if they find him guilty of having head-butted McCarthy.
Mourinho said, "I'm concerned with my reaction because one more question I leave. The next question for that story I have to go.”
He also said, “Did Branislav Ivanovic go in with his head? Don't make me laugh. Don't make me laugh."
When he was asked about the same incident by a different reporter, the Portuguese manager stormed off.
Mourinho refuses to blame referees
Mourinho has already been fined 25,000 pounds for suggesting there was a conspiracy being brewed against Chelsea and refused to discuss the idea of Ivanovic being banned. Recently, Chelsea striker Diego Costa was handed a three-match ban for stamping on Liverpool’s Emre Can, which drew strong reactions from Mourinho.
Chelsea could have won a fourth-minute penalty after a handball by Steven Naismith. Gareth Barry was lucky to have not been sent off earlier after back to back fouls on Juan Cuadrado and Eden Hazard, but was booked for one of them.
Mourinho added, "I'm tired of stories and I'm never tired of football. Football is emotion and what we had here today.
"A discussion because of a red card, a red card that should be given in the first half, because Barry should be sent off in the first half. He pulled Hazard. The second yellow card should be given there."
Mourinho however seemed to not directly say anything, and instead chose to veil his comments. He said, "I think it's a clear penalty. I also think the referee had a fantastic performance.The official that disallowed the goal, it was a fantastic decision."Published 12 Feb 2015, 12:30 IST