⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Leo Messi wins the Best Player award

14 Nov 2012, 10:57 IST

Champions in the First and Second Division, Real Madrid and Deportivo were the major award winners, while Argentina’s Leo Messi Barca’s wins his fourth consecutive best player and striker awards  in the 2011-12 Premios LFP Awards which was announced in Madrid on Tuesday.

The LFP gave its annual awards, which this year celebrates its fourth edition.

Real Madrid won three awards in Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos and Xabi Alonso, for the best goalkeeper, defender and midfielder respectively.

Benat Etxeberria, of Real Betis, and Barcelona‘s Sergio Busquets were also in contention for the holding-midfielder category, although Alonso finally emerged as the winner. “I am proud to be honoured with this prize in a league as competitive as the Liga BBVA,” Alonso said.

“I want to thank the coaches who thought of me as the best keeper last season. I am happy with this recognition and hope to win again next year, which would be a third time for me,” Iker Casillas said.

Elsewhere, Andres Iniesta was named best attacking midfielder, Carlos Puyol won the fair play award and Barcelona B’s Marc Bartra was voted the best defender in the second division.

Messi, who scored 50 goals last season, was named the league’s best player and striker, beating Real Madrid duo Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema for the award, while ex-Barcelona boss Pep Guardiola was selected best coach by the players and coaches of the top two divisions in Spain.

“I want to thank the coaches who have voted me the best player and my professional colleagues who have named me best player. I’m very happy and very proud,” said Messi after winning his two awards for the fourth successive year.

The revelation of the season for the first division was Francisco Alarcón player “Isco“, beating out Beñat of Real Betis and Isaac Cuenca of Barcelona.


In the Liga Adelante Section, 2011-12 champions Deportivo ended up picking awards for best coach in Jose Luis Oltra, player in Juan Carlos Valeron, goalkeeper in Dani Aranzubia and attacking midfielder in Andres Guardado.

Javi Hervas, now at Sevilla, was chosen as revelation of the season for his campaign with Córdoba.

As reported by the LFP, the technical committee that chose the shortlists of finalists consisted of Ricardo Gallego, Manolo Sarabia, Antonio Maceda, Rafael Martín Vázquez, Miguel Angel Ruiz and Antonio Pinilla.

Full List of Awards:

La Liga

Best player: Leo Messi (Barcelona)

Best Coach: Pep Guardiola (Barcelona)

Best Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (R. Madrid)

Best Defense: Sergio Ramos (R. Madrid)

Best midfielder Xabi Alonso (R. Madrid)

Best midfielder of attack: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Best Forward: Leo Messi (Barcelona)

Fair Play: Carles Puyol (Barcelona)

Revelation: Francisco Alarcon Isco (Málaga)

Liga Adelante

Best player: Juan Carlos Valeron (Deportivo)

Best Coach: Jose Luis Oltra (Deportivo)

Best goalkeeper: Dani Aranzubía (Deportivo)

Best defense: Marc Bartra (Barcelona B)

Best midfielder: Alex Lopez (Celtic)

Best midfielder of attack: Andres Guardado (Deportivo / Valencia)

Best Forward: Iago Blades (Celtic)

Fair Play: Miguel Angel Garcia “Corona” (UD Almería)

Revelation: Javi Hervas (Córdoba / Sevilla).

Fetching more content...