New User posted their first comment

Looking back at Bayern Munich's 7 consecutive Bundesliga titles

  • It has been an astonishing streak by the record-breaking Bayern Munich.
Modified 15 Aug 2019, 03:30 IST
Bayern Munich
Bayern Munich

Bayern Munich are the most successful club in the German Bundesliga, having won a staggering 28 titles. The next best title haul in the competition is Monchengladbach's and Dortmund's 5 triumphs apiece.

The record champions also have the longest streak of consecutive wins in the Bundesliga (19), and are the only club to tally 1000 match wins (1093) and score 4000 goals (4028).

Frenchman Franck Ribery is the club's most successful player, with a record 9 Bundesliga titles - the only player in the competition's history to do so.

Franck Ribery of Bayern Munich is the only player to win 9 Bundesliga titles
Franck Ribery of Bayern Munich is the only player to win 9 Bundesliga titles

"Der Bomber" Gerd Müller scored a staggering 365 Bundesliga goals in 427 games for Bayern Munich between 1965-66 to 1978-79, at an impressive 0.85 goals per game. That is the highest goal tally by a player in the Bundesliga, and also the most Bundesliga goals scored for a single club.

Müller's 40 goals for Bayern Munich in the 1971-72 season is the highest single-season goal tally in the Bundesliga. The diminutive striker's seven 'kicker Torjägerkanone', awarded for most goals in a Bundesliga season, is another Bundesliga record.

Bayern are the only Bundesliga club to win the treble of league, domestic Cup and European Cup (2012/13). The treble kick-started a run of seven consecutive Bundesliga titles for the Munich club.

Lets have a sneak peek at each of the serial Bundesliga winners' titles during this amazing streak.

#1 2012-13 (1st title)


In the 50th edition of the Bundesliga, Bayern ended the two-year reign of Borrusia Dortmund to win their 22nd Bundesliga title. Bayern tallied a record 91 points during this campaign to finish a record 25 points ahead of runners-up Borussia Dortmund.

Bayern's 29 match wins and 21 clean sheets during this season are both Bundesliga records.

#2 2013-14 (2nd title)

Bayern seemingly took off from where they left the previous season, streaking to their second consecutive title with a tally of 90 points and a record-equaling 29 wins. Borussia Dortmund finished a distant second, 21 points adrift.

In another dominating campaign, Bayern were crowned champions as early as on 25th March, with a record seven games to spare. The Munich club produced the Bundesliga's best consecutive match wins streak (19) and a record-equaling 28-game unbeaten run (1st game to 28th) during this season.

#3 2014-15 (3rd title)

In a less domineering but no less successful campaign, Bayern won their third Bundesliga title on the trot (25th overall), finishing 10 points clear of second placed VfL Wolfsburg (69 points).

#4 2015-16 (4th Title)

Bayern won a fourth consecutive Bundesliga title, in the process becoming the first Bundesliga club to do so. Borussia Dortmund (78 points) ended 10 points behind the Munich club for a third runner-up finish in four seasons.

Substitute Robert Lewandowski scored a stunning 5 goals in 9 minutes against VfL Wolfsburg, to record the first 5 goal haul by a substitute during a Bundesliga game. Bayern's Polish striker recorded the Bundesliga's fastest hat-trick, fastest four-goal and fastest five-goal hauls in that game.

Robert Lewandowski
Robert Lewandowski

#5 2016-17 (5th Title)

Bayern scored 82 points during this campaign to finish 15 points clear of Leipzig and win a record-extending 5th consecutive Bundesliga title. In a modicum of comfort for Dortmund, their Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang scored 31 goals, one more than Bayern's Lewandowski, to finish as the season's top scorer.

#6 2017-18 (6th Title)

With 27 wins, Bayern tallied 84 points during this campaign to win their 6th consecutive Bundesliga title by 19 points ahead of runners-up Schalke 04.

#7 2018-19 (7th Title)

In the first Bundesliga season where the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) was used, Bayern pipped runaway leaders Borussia Dortmund by two points in one of the closest title races in years. That gave them a record extending 7th consecutive Bundesliga title and 28th overall.

The triumph was Frenchman Franck Ribery's 9th, making him the Bundesliga's most successful player in terms of titles won. In this season Bayern won all three domestic titles on offer (DFB Pokal, DFL Super Cup and the Bundesliga).

As the 2019-20 season kicks off this weekend, will Bayern Munich continue to set new landmarks and records en route to an 8th consecutive Bundesliga title, or will another club have other ideas?

Published 15 Aug 2019, 03:30 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit