Favorites Edit

Luis Suarez wins Footballer Writers Association Footballer of The Year award

Snehartho Dey
2.55K   //    05 May 2014, 17:45 IST

Luis Suarez wins the Football Writer’s Association award

Luis Suarez has been voted as the Footballer of The Year by the Football Writer’s association.

The Uruguayan received 52% of the total votes ahead of his Liverpool team-mate Steven Gerrard and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure.

Earlier, Suarez also bagged in PFA Player of The Year award at the end of April following Gareth Bale’s last year feat to achieve the double in a season.

Suarez has been a pivotal player for the Merseyside outfit this campaign and has scored 30  Premier League goals in 28 appearances to keep them in the title hunt.

He is the seventh player to score 30 goals in a single Premier League season. He has been having a sensational time with the Reds since returning to action from a 10-match ban he acquired early in the season.

Chairman of FWA, Andy Dunn said, “Those members who have been fortunate enough to be working at a match involving Luis Suarez have witnessed an astonishing talent first-hand.”

“Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination. Add ingenious, impudent finishing and you have a footballer who truly quickens the pulse.”

“Luis is a remarkable gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of our award,” he added.

Suarez joins the elite list of footballers who have won the double in a season. Players like Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Robin Van Persie have also achieved the brace in the same season.

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...