Favorites Edit

Mexico announce 23-man squad for World Cup - Chicarito in, Aquino out

Snehartho Dey
3.42K   //    10 May 2014, 11:55 IST

The Mexican national team

After Germany announced their 30-man provisional squad two days ago, Mexico have revealed their final 23-man squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Manager Miguel Herrera announced his final list of players who will be representing the nation at the upcoming tournament in Brazil. The team sees new faces as 11 changes have been made from the 2013 Confederations Cup. The team’s balance looks fine as they have incorporated a relatively young set of players led by some veterans of the tournament.

Rafael Marquez will wear the captain’s armband for the fourth time as he features in the central defense. Veteran defenders Carlos Salcido and Francisco Rodriguez of Liga MX, will line up in the defence alongside Marquez. Giovanni Dos Santos of Villareal and Javier Hernandez of Manchester United reinstate their positions as the only two returning players from a total of 12 midfielders and strikers who played the last World Cup.

Diego Reyes and  Hector Herrera of FC Porto have made it into the final 23 . The highly rated left back, Andres Guadrado of Bayern Leverkusen, returns to play his third World Cup. Miguel Herrera has integrated players from the big leagues in Europe together with the domestic Liga MX in his selection. The slightly older players like Miguel Layun, Luis Montes and Jose Juan Vazquez have all fully justified their inclusions with their performances for clubs in the Liga MX and are set to make an impact in Brazil.

Meanwhile,Jorge Enriquez, Javier Aquino, Miguel Ponce and Hiram Mier won’t be flying to Brazil as they have failed to make it into Herrera’s final team. No player from the club Chivas will be representing the country this year which will be the first time ever in 80 years.

Mexico have been placed in Group A alongside Cameroon, Croatia and host nation Brazil.  They begin their group stage qualifications against Cameroon on June 13.

Goalkeepers : Guillermo Ocha, José de Jesús Corona, Alfredo Talavera

Defenders: Carlos Salcido,Rafael Márquez, Andrés Guardado, Francisco Javier Rodríguez, Héctor Moreno, Paul Aguilar, Diego Reyes, Miguel Layún

Midfielders: Carlos Peña, Marco Fabián, Luis Montes, Héctor Herrera, Juan Carlos Medina, Isaác Brizuela, José Juan Vázquez

Forwards: Giovani dos Santos, Javier Hernández, Oribe Peralta, Raúl Jiménez, Alan Pulido

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...