Favorites Edit

Paris Saint-Germian win second consecutive Ligue 1 title

Aditi Prakash
1.96K   //    08 May 2014, 12:04 IST

PSG win Ligue 1 for the second consecutive season

Paris Saint- Germian were crowned Ligue 1 champions despite losing their final match to Rennes FC after their closest rivals, Monaco, drew 1-1 with Guingamp.

PSG lost 2-1 to Rennes at the Parc des Princes but Monaco’s draw meant they were still 7 points clear with 2 games remaining. The celebrations were dampened by the loss but the fans were still jubilant as this is the first time in the club’s history that they have won back to back league titles.

Earlier that day, Monaco took the lead in the 77th minute through a  Dimitar Berabatov strike, but Fatih Akiri equalised for Guingamp with 5 minutes remaining.

The result meant that Monaco had to settle for a runners-up spot and Champions League qualification. Laurent Blanc’s men also won the Coupe de la Ligue earlier this season for a record fourth time.

Rennes won the other domestic title, Coupe de France, but still face the threat of relegation and are only 2 points clear of the relegation zone.

Topics you might be interested in:
Aditi Prakash
To me Football = everything. Manchester United = my religion. Don't like studying. I Love writing.
Fetching more content...