Favorites Edit

Top 5 candidates for the African Player Of The Year Award In 2017

Jidonu Mauyon
Top 5 / Top 10
21.69K   //    04 Oct 2017, 22:08 IST

BT Sport Industry Awards 2017
BT Sport Industry Awards 2017

The African Footballer of the Year award is given to the best African footballer annually based on their contributions, performance and achievements with both club and country. It has been deliberated by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) since 1992. Earlier, the African Footballer of the Year Golden Ball award was presented between 1970 and 1994 by France Football magazine which currently gives out the Ballon d'Or. The changes resulted in the introduction of the parallel Golden Ball awards that were given out to Abedi Pele and George Weah in 1993 and 1994 respectively. Ever since then, so many Africans have won the award. The likes of Kanu Nwankwo, Samuel Eto'o, Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang and many other stars have also lifted the coveted award.

Leicester City winger, Riyad Mahrez is the last man to claim the award. He won it in 2016 after an impressive season with Leicester City, a campaign where he won an unprecedented Premier League title with The Foxes.

The race is getting hotter as the days are passing by and t is the dream of any African footballer to win this award in their careers. Therefore, we take a look at the Top 5 players in contention for the 2017 edition of the award:

1 / 6 NEXT