Favorites Edit

UAE versus India World Cup Qualifiers: Climax to Captain India; Squad of 23 Announced

784   //    23 Jul 2011, 01:26 IST

Climax Lawrence

Interim coach Armando Colaco has named Climax Lawrence as captain and finalised his 23 players squad for the first-leg of the 2014 FIFA World Cup – Asian Round 2 home-and-away qualifier against the United Arab Emirates at the Sheikh Khalifa International Stadium in Al Ain City tomorrow.

In his third match in-charge Armando Colaco has named his third captain after Subrata Pal and Sunil Chhetri were captains in the friendlies against the Maldives and Qatar. This time it is his Dempo SC midfielder Climax Lawrence who will lead India onto the field.

The follow seven players had to be left out of the final 23 player squad Sandip Nandy, Denzil Franco, Rakesh Masih, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Shilton D’Silva, Peter Carvalho and C.S. Sabeeth.

(clubs mentioned from the old season)

Subrata Pal (Pune FC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC), Laxmikant Kattimani (Dempo SC)
Gouramangi Singh (Churchill Brothers SC), Robert Lalthlamuana (Churchill Brothers SC), Rowilson Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (Indian Arrows), Valeriano Rebello (Dempo SC), Debabrata Roy (Dempo SC), Sameer Naik (Dempo SC), Mahesh Gawli (Dempo SC)
Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Syed Rahim Nabi (East Bengal Club), Steven Benedic Dias (Churchill Brothers SC), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Indian Arrows), Lalrindika Ralte (Indian Arrows), Climax Lawrence (Dempo SC), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Lalkamal Bhowmick (United SC)
Sunil Chhetri (United SC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Indian Arrows), Sushil Kumar Singh (East Bengal Club), Baljit Singh Sahni (East Bengal Club)
Armando Colaco (Chief Coach), Savio Medeira (Assistant Coach), Marcus Pacheco (Goalkeeping Coach)

I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...