Favorites Edit

Uruguay announce 25-man provisional squad for FIFA World Cup 2014 - Suarez and Cavani to lead the attack

Snehartho Dey
10.02K   //    13 May 2014, 12:31 IST

The Uruguay national football team

England’s group rivals Uruguay have disclosed their 25-man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Manager, Oscar Tabarez, has revealed an expected line-up with a star studded attack spearheaded by Liverpool’s Luis Suarez and PSG’ Edison Cavani.

Veteran striker Diego Forlan resumes his role in the squad while West Browmich Albion‘s defender Diego Lugano has also been called in for his experience.

Diego Godin  of  Atletico Madrid has been sensational this season and he will be partnered by Juventus’s Martin Caceres at the heart of Uruguay’s defence.

Of course, the nation’s hopes will rest on their star forwards Luis Suarez and Edison Cavani. Suarez, who has scored 31 goals this season, will be looking to carry his unstoppable form to Brazil. Cavani has scored 22 goals for the Parisiens and his partnership with Suarez will be a nightmare for any defence in the competition.

Uruguay will have to go through Italy, England and Costa Rica in the group of death to qualify for the knockout phases of the tournament. They will kick off their campaign against Costa Rica on June 14.

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray/Turkey), Martin Silva (Vasco Da Gama/Brazil), Rodrigo Munoz (Libertad/Paraguay)

Defenders: Diego Lugano (West Bromwich Albion/England), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Jose Maria Gimenez (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Martin Caceres (Juventus/Italy), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica/Portugal), Jorge Fucile (Porto/Portugal), Sebastian Coates (Nacional).

Midfielders: Egidio Arevalo Rios (Morelia/Mexico), Walter Gargano (Parma/Italy), Diego Perez (Bologna/Italy), Sebastian Eguren (Palmeiras/Brazil), Alvaro Gonzalez (Lazio/Italy), Alejandro Silva (Lanus/Argentina), Alvaro Pereira (San Pablo/Brazil), Cristian Rodriguez (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Gaston Ramirez (Southampton/England), Nicolas Lodeiro (Botafogo/Brazil).

Forwards: Luis Suarez (Liverpool/England), Edinson Cavani (PSG/France), Diego Forlan (Cerezo Osaka/Japan), Cristian Stuani (Espanyol/Spain), Abel Hernandez (Palermo/Italy).

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...