Write & Earn
Notifications

Video: Should Diego Costa have been sent off for stamping?

Chelsea's Diego Costa was at the heart of two moments which could have seen him sent off had the referee seen it and found it deliberate. Should he have seen a red card?

Diego Costa
Diego Costa

Diego Costa was at his usual argumentative self in Chelsea’s crucial second leg tie against Liverpool. He appeared to have stamped twice in the game – first on Emre Can and then on Martin Skrtel.

The Spaniard has a reputation of being explosive and that was evident in the match at Stamford Bridge. In the first half, as early as the 12th minute, the Chelsea striker looked like he stamped on Can’s leg right in front of the dugout.

Late in the second half, Skrtel was incensed after it seemed like Costa had undergone a Deja vu moment, having stepped on Skrtel’s ankle.

Incident No. 1 – Emre Can

In the 12th minute, Emre Can and Costa were competing for the ball near the touchline and after the ball went out, Can was angry at the Spaniard as it looked like he was stamped on by the Chelsea striker.

Incident No. 2 – Martin Skrtel

In the second half, the striker was back in the spotlight after the referee had blown his whistle for a Chelsea foul. Skrtel tackled the ball away and Costa landed on his ankle.

Costa

Fetching more content...